Decadent Chocolate Mousse with Coconut Whip!

Hi, let me introduce you to my breakfast.  It’s one of my all time obsessions I can’t live without. I have it for breakfast or sometimes after dinner when I want something sweet that won’t put me in a sugar coma.  Oh and did I mention it’s healthy? Like no sugar, low carb, high in fiber to keep you full and can help flatten your belly?  Yeah I know I sound crazy but it’s all thanks to my best friend Mr. Avocado.  He knows how to sneak his way into recipes making them healthy without your taste buds realizing it. Oh and that lovely whip topping? So simple and it adds soo much! Just whip some coconut milk after it has hardened in the fridge.

I don’t know where that second dollop of whip cream came from ;)

Ingredients:

1/2 Avocado (I used hass)

1 tbsp dark cocoa powder

3 drop liquid stevia

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 banana (optional, if you don’t want to taste the avocado throw it in there)

1 tbsp hardened coconut milk (adds firmness)

-Blend everything, I used short magic bullet cup

*Calories using Hass avocado and banana, around 300, what a steal!

Coconut Whip

-1/4 cup (or more if you want to keep in fridge) hardened coconut milk. In order to achieve this result, use canned coconut milk and put it in the back of your fridge overnight so it hardens. If there is still some liquid then only use the stiff parts.

Whip with beaters. One tbsp is 35 calories of deliciousness. Concerned about saturated fat from coconuts? Check out the new research!

*Some ideas if you really don’t like the taste of avocado (your crazy) but want to try this is try using those sugar free syrups that you put in coffee’s or if you don’t mind a little sugar use agave or flavored agave. Hazelnut agave would be amazing. You could also get “fancy” and make it super high protein. Whip some egg whites until they are foamy and gently fold them in. This is how they do real chocolate mousse and now your adding tons of protein without tons of calories! (I have not tried this in this recipe so I cannot vouch for it, let me know if you try!) Or if you want to have for dessert and want some real chocolate, melt some dark and fold it in or add as a topping!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Decadent Chocolate Mousse with Coconut Whip!

  1. Joanne February 11, 2012 at 1:19 pm Reply

    Chocolate for breakfast…now THIS is something I need in my life!

  2. Aunt Melissa February 14, 2012 at 6:39 pm Reply

    Oh, girl, you KNOW I am making me some of this soon! Your asides make me laugh!

  3. Aunt Melissa March 12, 2012 at 3:49 pm Reply

    12 March-
    I finally got the opportunity to try this wacky avocado/choc combo today. My hubby left me 1/2 an avocado. I LOVE them, but this one looked bruised, so I remembered this recipe! I used an immersion blender, which gave me issues until I added the 1/2 banana. I also used choc/almond milk instead of the coconut (thought I had some; was wrong). The texture is SOOO good. The dark choc- say no more!!! Wrote coconut milk on grocery list for next time. Wanna try the whip too!

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions March 13, 2012 at 7:15 am Reply

      awesome go glad you liked it! make sure it is the canned coconut milk and not the carton! and I always say buy the full fat because you can make it light at home by using half the amount and adding water- no reason to pay for watered down coconut milk! let me know how it goes :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

