Paleo Pumpkin Biscotti

I have been going back into my pumpkin phase even though we are phasing into spring especially early this year.  This morning I wanted something easy to make so I could enjoy my pumpkin for breakfast.  After looking through pumpkin bread recipes I came up with this “biscotti” idea because the dough does not rise at all and look a lot like regular biscotti.  They would have the typical crunch if you were to keep the recipe entirely of almond flour, but to lighten it slightly I wanted some coconut flour and flax seed for omega 3 of course.small pie pumpkin

I topped it with Coconut Almond Butter :) aka AMAZING. I actually keep it in the fridge because then it hardens and I can’t just pop a spoon in there whenever I want, it literally goes down like icing so dangerous.

Ingredients:

1 cup blanched almond flour

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

3 eggs

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup flax seed ground

1/4 cup coconut flour- (adds fiber)

optional, 1 tbsp coconut palm sugar

optional, 4 drops liquid stevia

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp cayenne (no really you don’t taste it and it is known to boost metabolism!)

1 tsp cloves (they have a strong flavor, make sure you like them first!)

(super paleo version add 1 scoop your favorite protein powder, I did not so I cannot vouch for it)

Directions:

-Preheat oven to 350

-Mix dry with a sift or I just did in a blender, then add wet.

-Bake in loaf pan until comes clean with a toothpick.

-To make true biscotti, cut into slices and place on cookie sheet to crisp up, “bake twice”.

Enjoy with coffee or an afternoon espresso.  Or if you have really been bitten by the pumpkin bug, have wtih a pumpkin latte ;)

This is not a sweet biscotti and instead is very “spicy” not hot from the cloves.  Did you know cloves are at the top of list ORAC list with over 200,000 antioxidant power?

The cinnamon vanilla coconut almond butter helps to sweeten it up and in my opinon is a MUST!  You could always make it really pumpkinny and make some pumpkin butter or top with honey… endless possibilities.

Calories when using regular size loaf pan with coconut sugar and cut into 8 slices (not including toppings)

153

10 grams–have not calculated the fiber but I am sure the net carbs are less

11 grams fat

7 grams protein

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

