Spicy Black Bean Turkey Burger with Roasted Mango Salsa

First let me say sorry for not posting for a few days, I have had some personal stuff and not had much time to post.  Next lets talk savory, spicy, meaty and oh healthy?  Yes, that is the perk of turkey burgers.   Turkey burger are a new addition to my diet or should I say a new obsession.  They taste just like beef minus all that grease which I love.  They are also great for when you are in a pinch and want a hearty meal in not a lot of time.  This recipe was adapted from Cara’s Cravings and really I just made it even less work. And she is so right about it being husband approved, it made my man do the happy dance.  He wouldn’t even wait for me to come sit down before he ate 1 whole burger, (yes those 2 in the picture are both his) and these weren’t small.   These are also budget friendly since turkey meat is cheaper than beef and black beans you can get for $1.  As for the buns I had planned on making a trip to a diet/specialty store to get myself gluten free buns but I couldn’t make it.  I did buy BF regular kaiser rolls because he never has them and I will just store the extras in the freezer for next time. I was tempted to leave his hand in the picture because he wouldn’t let go of the plate.  I was searching for new placemats my mom had bought me to make a great picture and he was not waiting.  So I rushed taking photos before they disappeared.  Hopefully they get the point across that these were REALLY FREAKING GOOD.  Like I can’t wait to have it for lunch and will have trouble not thinking about this while working out.  Talk about motivation.  This is a burger for a man’s taste buds and a woman’s waistline, now go make it!

Ingredients:

1 pound 94% lean turkey

1/2 spanish onion

1 can black beans

2 or more tbsp cajun seasoning

1 tbsp sweet BBQ sauce

3 garlic cloves

Directions

Mix everything 2 hours before cooking.  Yeah, it’s that easy.

-I followed her recipe for the Mango Salsa except I had 2 cubanelle peppers so I used those instead. For the cheese I used my favorite blend of Mexican Shredded.  For the spread it got even easier.  I mashed 1 ripe avocado with 1 heaping tbsp of my Red Thai Curry Paste for spicy blend of flavors.  That’s why it is not super green in the picture.

This recipe should be called Turkey Burgers for dummies, so you are a dummy if you don’t try it ;)

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Spicy Black Bean Turkey Burger with Roasted Mango Salsa

  1. Cara March 9, 2012 at 10:08 am Reply

    Wow, never thought to combine curry paste with avocado – I think you’re on to something! Glad you liked the burgers :)

  2. [...] recipe uses my Red Thai Curry Paste and Cara’s Roasted Mango Salsa but get as creative as you want with this!  It also cooks really fast so it is super easy on a [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

