Protein Packed Peanut Pumpkin Dip

No matter what time of year it is I still love pumpkin.  It is so tasty, can be sweet or savory and is SO good for you.  Pumpkin is a powerhouse vegetable packed with vitamin A- about a weeks worth in just one cup!  It also has tons of fiber and vitamin K just to mention a few.  In the fall I went through a HUGE pumpkin obsession eating it at least once a day usually in the form of pumpkin latte yumm.  I am sort of relapsing now and especially after this lovely dip.  I was inspired when I saw this recipe and I had to make it but I wanted to eat the whole thing.  So in order for me to feel “justified” in doing so I needed to find a way to sneak some protein in here.  Enter PB2.  Plus now since I am saving on calories using this instead of real peanut butter I can add other fun things like white chocolate chips, OOooo.

I also made a little extra love on top using some agar base mixed with pumpkin to make it really pumpkinny.  The best part of this beautiful sight is it is only 300 calories- yeah seriously.  This could easily be a super nutritious breakfast (which involves no cooking yay!) or only eat half for a late night snack.  Either way its sinful minus the guilt and can actually make you even more beautiful because of all the vitamin A for your skin!

Ingredients:

1.5 cups pumpkin puree

4 tbsp PB2 (if you don’t have use 2 tbsp peanut butter)

2 tbsp canned full fat coconut milk (I like to use the hardened parts on top from sitting in the fridge)

1 tsp vanilla extract

few drops of stevia or preferred sweetener

2 tbsp cocoa powder (I use 1 regular and 1 dark)

Directions:

Whip everything together.  Would be best chilled in the fridge for at least 2 hours but I couldn’t wait.  Top with your favorite toppings, I used some crumbled white chocolate chips.  Top with agar topping if you have it made.

For a nutritional breakfast option, add either 1/3 cup oatmeal, 2 tbsp flax seed or other breakfast grain.  You could even whip it up the night before work and bring with you!

(You can see me in the spoon ;) )

Calories without toppings using PB2:  285

Carbs 44g

Fat 11g–(You need that bit of fat from full fat coconut milk in order to absorb vitamin A from pumpkin)

Protein 18g

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Protein Packed Peanut Pumpkin Dip

  1. ohshineon March 20, 2012 at 12:06 am Reply

    So glad to see an adapted version of my recipe. Pumpkin and pb… Never thought of that but I must say I’m digging’ it for sho. It’s hanks for the ping back!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

