Craziest, Greenest Green Monster Ever!

This has been my breakfast for 2 weeks straight now.  Maybe 1 or 2 times I have strayed- but not willingly.  I guess I’m addicted, but it’s green so it’s ok right? ;)

And there’s some lovely toppings that basically make the drink.  Some molasses coated sunflower seed granola, hemp seeds and spirutein protein powder.  I have never been a fan of protein powder until this one, it’s amazing.  It doesn’t have fillers, chemicals or all those other unpronounceable foods that most powders do.  Plus it has every vitamin and mineral your body could ever need.  But the best part is that it makes your drinks like a milkshake  consistency SO GOOD!  I have the double fudge crunch version and I didn’t realize till about half of it was gone that it recommended that it just be stirred in to keep the “crunch” factor.  Once I did this is reminded me of when I was little and used to love the swiss miss hot cocoa packets because I used to just pour it onto water and then eat the powder- (weird I know). But it was sugary and good and the protein powder totally resembles it.

Anyway, back to green monster madness.  This is like vitamin A, C, E, D, K,….. {you get the point} to like the 10th power.  You are getting it from the obvious green food sources but then the powder helps supplement even more.  Plus there are some other goodies like hemp, flax and avocado which help with absorbing all those fat soluble vitamins.  And of course you know I’m going to add matcha green tea powder to my green madness.

What you don’t know are my other crazy ingredients.  Just a warning though- don’t go overboard on them like I did a few days ago.  Too much of anything can make you ill- like nauseous, dizzy and shit I might pass out from too much cayenne, rosemary, mint, and turmeric in my smoothie - whoops!

So yes, I did put too much of those into it but now I realize I can do UP TO 1 tsp of each except the cayenne :)- really only do a pinch!  If you are looking for a way to mix up your green monsters I definitily encourage you to try this one with the added spices for extra anti-inflammatory and antioxidant benefits.

And I know the ingredients list is somewhat off putting but you must try this-it’s amazing!  You would never expect it to taste good but trust me I wouldn’t post anything that is not super delicious :)

Ingredients: Serves 1–{Recommend organic for as much as possible}

2 sticks celery

1 cup chopped kale

1 persian cucumber or 1/2 regular

1/2 cup baby carrots

2 sheets nori

1 tsp matcha green tea powder

1/2 cup almond milk

4 ice cubes

1/2 cup water

1 cup frozen broccoli

2 tbsp avocado

few tsp mint extract, or fresh mint

2 tbsp sugar free chocolate syrup

.5 tsp turmeric

1 tsp cinnamon

sprinkle of cayenne

1 tbsp fresh minced ginger

1 scoop spirutein (or other preferred)

1-2 tbsp flax seed

1 tbsp hemp seeds

2 tbsp granola

Directions:

Blend everything except the last 4 ingredients which go on top to be mixed in.  Enjoy and feel invigorated!

This is packed  with tons of healthy vitamins and minerals- check it out!  

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Craziest, Greenest Green Monster Ever!

  1. Aunt Melissa April 28, 2012 at 11:18 am Reply

    What’s so great about nori that it goes in your shake?

  2. elle April 28, 2012 at 1:17 pm Reply

    Wooow these are some amazing ingredients!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

