Blueberry Buckwheat Donut Flop

Unfortunately for me, looks can be deceiving.

This was supposed to be a post to support celiac awareness month.  Although it still is somewhat, it is also one for all the other gluten free bakers out there who feel my pain- a gummy result yick!

Needless to say I was really disappointed after having this recipe bookmarked for 2 months.  I finally thought I had all the ingredients and decided last night at 9:00pm would be a good time to make these.  Ah I think it was my flax eggs that took me down in the end.  Although it could have been the banana for the sugar and the tapioca flour instead of arrowroot flour- shucks.

So even though I failed at my blueberry buckwheat donuts {I will still be eating them} I wanted to post them for everyone to follow the Original recipe.  The trials and tribulations of gluten free baking is always a temperamental thing but hopefully soon I can redeem myself and try these again!

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Buckwheat Donut Flop

  1. Alta May 8, 2012 at 9:07 am Reply

    Oh no – I hate when things flop. Egg-free, gluten-free baking is hard for sure. I imagine there was too much moisture with the banana sub. I’ve subbed tapioca for arrowroot many times with good results though – so you might be alright there. Don’t give up on your experiments though! I bet a vegan buckwheat donut is totally possible. :) Thanks for linking to my recipe.

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions May 8, 2012 at 11:04 pm Reply

      Sure no problem! I know they will turn out delicious once I follow the directions lol. Hopefully I can try them again next week :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

