Avocado Mac & Cheese

20120525-220519.jpg

A few weeks ago I saw a post on avocado Mac and cheese and I wanted to eat my computer screen. My obsession with avocado never ceases to amaze me, I really never get sick of them. I would much rather OD {over dose ;)} on a “fatty” avocado than a fatty burger. Plus they can be transformed into anything. That is why I loved the idea of making them into a Mac and cheeseee, yum.

Oddly enough when I was craving this I was also wanting some nutty mushrooms and eggplant that was just chilling (no pun intended ;) ) in the fridge. So before I made the sauce (which only takes a minute, really) I sautéed some leeks with sliced mushrooms and diced eggplant. The combination of the nutty, earthy mushrooms with the leeks and richness of avocado- heaven. I enjoyed this bowl of comfort sitting in silence as boyfriend was napping after we had returned from going out to lunch. Yes you heard me correctly, we had just got back from lunch except there was a bit of an issue.

You see we had just gotten back into town after visiting my school and after I read yelp reviews of about 30 different restaurants I had decided we go to this Thai-Malaysian restaurant. I attempted to order the vegetarian Thai curry and continued even after I asked if there was soy sauce. (it’s a sneaky gluten carrier.) I ordered anyway because usually in curries it is only in small amounts and I was expecting a coconut milk style dish. When our food arrived my stomach dropped. It was like they took a cup of oil and a cup of soy sauce and drenched the vegetables. Even if i could have soy I would still not eat that- it looked like some of the greasiest “Chinese food” I had ever seen.

After that I was not a happy camper and bf gave me some of his but at this point I just wanted to go home and make myself something I know I would like. Then I proceeded to break down because of the stress I feel in general now of eating out and how I have to make sure what I am eating is safe. Not only do I not want to be that person with a list of criteria but the worst of it is when people judge you about it. As if it is a choice or that it is for some vanity. So right now I still struggle to enjoy eating out because of the worry of whether or not they can or care to accommodate my needs.

Have any of you gluten free-ers, dairy-free, vegan…etc ever been in this situation? How do you handle it. Feel free to share your tips on the stresses of eating out with allergies.

So with this lengthy story I give you an extremely satisfying, gluten free and optional vegan avocado Mac and cheese.

Ingredients for sauce: makes 1 serving
1/2 small avocado
2 tbsp nutritional yeast
5 basil leaves
2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 garlic clove
1/4 cup unsweetened non-dairy milk (I used flax milk-my new favorite love)
Sprinkle of herbs de Provence
*optional 1 tbsp goat cheese

Directions:
Place garlic clove in food processor to mince. Add the rest of ingredients till you get a smooth consistency. Use more or less milk for desired thickness.

For sautéed veg:
1/4 cup each eggplant diced, mushrooms sliced, leeks sliced

Mince roughly 1/4 cup leeks and sauté them over medium-high heat for two minutes. Add the eggplant (I used a non-stick pan because eggplant is like a sponge and sprayed the pan a few times with non-stick spray to brown eggplant.) Add the mushrooms during last two minutes of browning the eggplant.

20120525-224527.jpg

I then used spiraled zucchini only because I was impatient and didn’t feel like bowling my quinoa pasta. Next time I will be waiting though. Either way it was amazing. Next time I might add seem toasted slivered almonds to up the nuttiness factor.

Just toss everything together and season with salt and pepper to taste.

20120525-224932.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Avocado Mac & Cheese

  1. Always hungry May 29, 2012 at 4:31 pm Reply

    Might be good w/ spaghetti squash as a sub. For pasta..

    Advice on the eating out… Preface anything u ask for with “I apologize in advance, but I’d like to add that Im a really great tipper” :)

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions May 29, 2012 at 4:53 pm Reply

      haha yes but then there are expectations and it becomes all relative and “what a good tipper is” though I’m willing to give it a shot :)

  2. Victoria May 29, 2012 at 4:41 pm Reply

    I’m all out of nutritional yeast of I would make some right now! Thanks for another great recipe. Can’t wait to try! Have a great day!

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions May 29, 2012 at 4:52 pm Reply

      I almost ashamed to say it and didn’t see it coming, but this recipe happened because I was craving nutritional yeast. Not even 2 weeks ago I hated the flavor and I already love it now. So weird how your taste buds change! Let me know when you give it a shot!

  3. Aunt Melissa May 30, 2012 at 7:35 am Reply

    As a lactose-intolerant, I would always first ask if there was any dairy in a dish I was considering. The waiters were always sympathetic when I held my tummy and explained with a frown how I wish I could eat that, but it would make me sick if it had dairy. Many times they would ask the chef about the dairy factor. So, play on their sympathy.

  4. Alta May 31, 2012 at 11:36 am Reply

    I actually find difficulty explaining my food issues at Asian restaurants. Thing is, Thai is one of those cuisines where MOST of the dishes actually ARE okay for me to eat, but I think they must get fewer inquiries or something, because I am met with a lot of confusion many times. I do my best to make sure I know what SHOULD be in a certain dish – so I can steer clear of soy sauce – but I ask. If I have too much confusion, I opt not to eat. It’s annoying, but I can’t risk being sick for weeks! I do like the “good tipper” comment though! :)

  5. [...] the rest of the dish I used an archived favorite, Avocado Mac & Cheese but I added some scallions, chives and roasted garlic (obsessed). I nixed the goat cheese and used [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

