Zucchini Fettucine, Collard Greens & Sweet Potato in Curry Cream Sauce

20120604-224852.jpg

After a super long day of commuting and 6 hours of neuroscience I am not wanting to spend a lot of time cooking dinner. I also don’t want to call this “curry in a hurry” but that is what it is. It was the perfect way to unwind and to enjoy my new patio space in peace. Plus the weather today was a bit cooler so this was the perfect bowl of comfort.

For a long time I have been wanting to grind my own curry powder and the other night I finally did. I got the recipe from another blogger and unfortunately I can’t find the original. There are so many to choose from that if you are an Indian food lover like me I encourage you to choose one and make it from scratch. It is so easy and I’m sure more economical not to mention it really does taste better. I used my coffee grinder but I imagine you could do it in any high powered blender. I used a heaping tablespoon for just myself but that is because I love love love curry.

This dish would be perfect with a piece of naan and if you are not gluten free you can easily find it in the grocery store near the bread aisle. If you are I have seen gluten free recipes although I haven’t tried one. For us gf-ers I think roti would be easier to prepare because it is pretty quick. Or a chickpea crepe would make a delicious addition.

I had neither so I actually added a little potato starch to thicken up the sauce because I really didn’t want any to be left behind :)

The homemade version I used is slightly bitter because it has a good amount of turmeric so I added a little honey at the end- perfection. Sweet, spicy, savory and comforting equals one happy chica!

Ingredients: Serves 1
1/2 small sweet potato spiraled, or chopped
1/2 zucchini spiraled with ribbon/fettucine setting, or just use a peeler
1/2 cup chopped, stems removed collard greens
1/4 cup white onion
1-2 garlic cloves
1-2 tsp fresh ginger
1 tsp homemade curry powder for non-curry lovers, 1 tbsp for curry lovers ;)
1/4 cup non-dairy milk
honey/agave to taste
optional add-ins- cashews, toasted almonds, coconut milk…etc.

Directions:
Heat 2 inch high non-stick pan with 1 tbsp oil/ghee and cook onions for 2 minutes. Add sweet potatoes and cook another 1-2 minutes till starting to soften. Sprinkle curry powder and coat evenly. Add collard greens, season with salt and pepper and cook another minute till just starting to wilt. Use microplane and grate ginger and garlic and sauté for 1 minute. Add non-dairy milk and stir everything together.

Depending on how saucy you want it either cook it down and add zucchini 2 minutes before you take it off the heat. I wanted it to be a thick sauce so I added the zucchini soon after, tossed everything very well and then took it off the heat. About 2 minutes later I added some potato starch, stirred well and poured into a bowl. Then I finished it with about 1 tbsp honey.

Although this is one of the easiest curries I’ve made, it’s one of my favorites because of the homemade curry powder, it makes it :)

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Zucchini Fettucine, Collard Greens & Sweet Potato in Curry Cream Sauce

  1. Kellene June 5, 2012 at 10:14 pm Reply

    omg, this looks amazing! i need to try it!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

