Ridiculously Amazing Brownie Batter Bowl

20120616-131622.jpg

I know it’s been awhile since I’ve come up with something amazing, but I think I may have just redeemed myself. This bowl of BEANLESS brownie batter goodness is so ridiculously, sinfully and effortlessly satisfying, you might need to pinch yourself after you taste it. That’s because it’s not even 150 calories, has only healthy MUFAs and is nut/dairy/soy/sugar free. And not that I have anything against bean dips, I actually really enjoy it but they usually require dates which are high in sugar.

The funny thing about this little concoction is that I made it on accident. A few nights ago I had planned to have some cold cocoa so I stirred together some flax milk and cocoa powder. Then I thought maybe I’ll make a chia pudding since I’m putting it in the fridge for an hour-ish. So I threw in some chia meal, (I prefer that to seeds right now) and I didn’t feel like dirtying my magic bullet cup so I just left everything all chunky in the cup as anyone who has tried to stir cocoa powder into something cold knows. Then when I came back and opened it up I realized something spectacular happened

I made healthy brownie batter!!

One of my favorite things to eat as a child, I easily preferred the batter to the brownie, (well I wouldn’t pass one up if it came my way…) and now it seems perfectly off limits seeing all the sugar, carbs…etc. I really can’t even describe to you how similar this is to the real thing and how bad it feels ;)

I don’t remember where along the way some coconut flour entered the picture, I think I just stirred it in after but now I do it before to make for a “firmer” batter. Plus then you get a bite of “cookie dough” type texture.

This is so easy to make, and requires very little ingredients so I don’t want any excuses.

Ingredients:
1 cup unsweetened flax/almond/coconut milk
3 tbsp cocoa powder (I prefer dark)
1/2 tbsp chia meal
1-2 tbsp coconut flour, more will give you thicker batter
Sweetener to taste, I used 5 stevia drops

Directions:
Mix your dry ingredients in cup or bowl you plan to eat out of (dish smart). Add your milk and sweetener and stir. If you want thick batter stir less and use 2 max coconut flour. Allow it to chill in the fridge at least 15 minutes and 2 hours for very thick batter. It will firm up especially on the top so just stir and add any additional toppings you want! I plan to get some sprinkles and I’m sure some peanut butter sauce will find its way on there at some point!
20120616-134103.jpg

I may have added some coffee powder to it today- needless to say it was the best mocha pick me up ever!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Ridiculously Amazing Brownie Batter Bowl

  1. Gabby @ the veggie nook June 16, 2012 at 3:01 pm Reply

    Oh man I am making this soon- what a happy accident!!

  2. Sarah August 23, 2012 at 6:30 pm Reply

    Oh my goodness. This looks delicious!

  3. [...] Check out the brownie batter bowl. Must try [...]

  4. Fudging Ahead September 1, 2012 at 1:52 am Reply

    How cool!! I love brownie batter!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

