Curried Tahini Banana Crepes, GF

20120627-203736.jpg

What? You actually came to read about this? Were you grossed out or intrigued? Well either way I’m here to tell you these were DELICIOUS! What an awesome way to start my morning with a lovely sweet and warm comforting plate of gluten free crepes. The flavors of the tahini go perfect with the banana and the curry was a great way to wake up my taste buds (did I mention it wasn’t even 6am yet?) As long as your curry powder isn’t crazy spicy this will totally work. I used the one that I made from scratch but store bought ones will work perfect because they are very mild.

These are totally flour free and is a base of 1 egg, some flax and baking powder. Talk about a super healthy way to start your morning so that drizzle of agave or honey is not such a big deal ;)

I encourage you to try these to mix it up and even if your not a huge curry fan, a sweeter version may turn you onto it. If your crazy and really don’t care for it, sub in chai spice or just some cinnamon.

Ingredients:
1 egg
1 tbsp flax seed
almond milk, start with 3 tbsp
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp curry powder (I use 1 heaping tbsp :) )
1/2 ripe banana
1 tbsp tahini

1 tsp vanilla extract

dehydrated banana (oh yes I did finally get a dehydrator, lots to come with that)
1 tsp coconut oil
honey or agave for drizzling

Directions:
-Mash your banana in a bowl. Add egg and vanilla extract and  scramble together to thin out banana even more. Add flax and almond milk to create pancake/crepe consistency. Add curry powder, baking powder and tahini and stir well. You don’t want the batter too thin or too thick.
-Heat 1 tsp coconut oil or just spray frying pan and pour 1/3 batter into the pan. Roll the pan around quickly to dispense batter evenly. Cook around 1 minute and flip and cook about 30 seconds. Crepes are finicky so just look for the edges to start to lift and little bubbles in the middle which are good signs it is ready to be flipped.
-Top with dehydrated banana slices, agave even some walnuts wouldn’t hurt. Get creative!

20120627-203755.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Curried Tahini Banana Crepes, GF

  1. Gabby @ the veggie nook June 30, 2012 at 5:05 pm Reply

    what an awesome idea for a flavour combination! I was not grossed out at all when I read the title- I KNEW it was leading to a delicious dish :)

  2. Jess (@floptimism) July 1, 2012 at 6:23 pm Reply

    Hi! I know I’m really more of a quiet follower but I wanted to let you know that I really enjoy your blog, and just nominated you for a Versatile Blogger Award over on mine! http://floptimism.blogspot.com/2012/07/paying-it-forward-with-versatile.html

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions July 1, 2012 at 7:47 pm Reply

      Wow thank you so much that is so nice! I will definitely recriprocate and vote for you when I get the time, just wanted to say thank you!

  3. Kammie July 11, 2012 at 11:20 am Reply

    Such a great idea, these look awesome. I still have no idea what tahini tastes like though! haha

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions July 25, 2012 at 9:59 am Reply

      Sorry your comment was put in my spam and I just found it. Tahini is AMAZING I eat it almost everyday. The best is when you roast the sesame seeds yourself, (be careful not to burn) and then blend it once they cool- so addicting!

      • Kammie July 25, 2012 at 11:28 am

        That’s weird that I got put in spam. Where do you buy it, btw?

      • heatherscreativeconcoctions August 5, 2012 at 12:29 pm

        I have seen it at Wegmans, Trader Joes and Stop and Shop but now I just buy raw sesame seeds from nuts.com (love that site!) and blend it myself in my vita-mix. I usually roast them for about 7 minutes in the oven before- makes all the difference!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

