Brown rice and Bell Pepper Collard Wraps with Basil Lime Dressing

20120703-193812.jpg

Collard wraps have become one of my favorite ways to eat lately. Thats of course only after you figure out that you can’t over stuff them so they can be wrapped properly. And surprisingly 1 leaf produces 2 very substantial sized wraps. Initially for this dish I was not planning to wrap it up (thats what she said ;)) and I was just going to eat it is a pilaf but then I was craving a basil-y lime sauce and then I had a lightbulb moment. I am so glad I did because this was SO GOOD! I know it’s so simple but it was SO satisfying and trust me I never thought I would say that about something wrapped in “lettuce”.

Other than cooking the rice (which involves little-no skill) this meal can easily be prepared in under 20 minutes. It is also very versatile so mix and match your favorite flavors. Mine was vegan but the BF did without the lettuce (go figure ;) ) and sautéed some of the jalapeño chicken sausage to add in. These wraps can also travel fairly well and can make a great lunch, just keep the sauce on the side and make sure you wrap them well.

20120703-200049.jpg

Sorry I know my pictures aren’t the best- I’m always rushing as the BF sits there waiting to eat as I am attempting to take 30+ photos.

Ingredients:
1 cup brown rice, uncooked

1/2 onion of choice
1 red bell pepper
1 green bell pepper
2 garlic cloves
2 ears of corn

Directions
-Cook brown rice according to directions. Try to have this ready for when the vegetables are ready you can just mix everything together.

-Heat skillet over medium-high heat, add oil/butter and sauté onions and corn for 2 minutes. Add chopped bell peppers and sauté for 3-5 minutes until they start to soften. Add garlic and saute for 3 minutes or until everything is evenly cooked. Season with salt and pepper. Other optional seasoning could be chipotle, paprika and cayenne. I kept it simple because I was all about the sweet lime basal dressing.

Sweet Lime Basil Dressing:
2-3 tbsp avocado
1 tsp nutritional yeast
2 drops stevia, or more to taste
1/2 lime juiced
1 tbsp vegan sour cream
1/4 cup lightly packed fresh basil
water to thin to desired consistency

I threw everything in magic bullet

20120703-203403.jpg
To assemble:
Take 1 large collard leaf and cut of the rib so you have 2 wraps. Spread dressing in a line down the center and then lay the brown rice mixture on top. I have found the easiest way to wrap is fold the rib cut side over to make a base which holds the bottom in place. Then just start at 1 end and roll while continuing to hold the bottom piece in place. It takes a bit of practice and still can get a bit messy while you eat it but thats the fun part ;)

This recipe could serve 4 but since I’m feeding a hefty man appetite it was more like 2.5 hehe :)

Tagged: , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Brown rice and Bell Pepper Collard Wraps with Basil Lime Dressing

  1. louis July 4, 2012 at 12:29 am Reply

    What is “basal”? Do you mean “basil”??

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions July 4, 2012 at 5:35 am Reply

      Lol yes I do! I’m in a neuroscience class and I am so used to writing basal ganglia that I didn’t even realize! Thanks for the catch!

  2. Gabby @ the veggie nook July 4, 2012 at 2:48 pm Reply

    Looks delicious and so fresh!

    Loved the “that’s what she said joke”. I am so bad at catching those but I love when other people do :)

  3. Kellene July 12, 2012 at 10:36 pm Reply

    love this idea! i’m trying to eat paleo, so i love the idea of swapping out an actual wrap for collard greens. bookmarked!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

