Kitchen Therapy

So it’s been awhile since I’ve posted, but it’s only because I’m finally starting my summer. My neuroscience class ended and I finally feel like a person again. And although I haven’t posted I have been cooking- a lot.

Say hello to my little celebratory pineapple-mango guava rum delite to kickoff my summer- and maybe it was 12pm in the afternoon after my neuro final ;)20120713-095128.jpg

On fourth of July I had to have my meaty mushroom millet burger which I decided to have some spicy sweet potato fries and my favorite summertime snack- tomatoes I know weird right? I probably go through a container of grape tomatoes every three days and having lots of fresh basil growing outside doesn’t hurt.

20120713-094330.jpg
Oh and that cheese there, is Daiya, and it’s AMAZING! Seriously you have to try it if you are curious it is SO worth it and yes it is a bit pricy at 3-4$ a bag, but just once I encourage you to splurge. And don’t worry it is very melty, it just doesn’t look like it because I was doing 1,000 things in the kitchen and didn’t time it right.

I also made some Apple Cinnamon Goji Berry Granola with Toasted Coconut- needless to say this has been a huge hit and is almost gone.

20120713-095902.jpg

Some super satisfying vegan and gluten free comfort food, aka Three Pepper Loaded Pizza on Polenta Pizza Crust (half has Daiya and the other half has shredded Mexican cheese with dairy)

20120713-100234.jpg

20120713-100300.jpg

I finally made Tahini with raw sesame seeds that I roasted myself- if you decide to do this don’t leave the kitchen! Those babies can burn quick and you don’t want to have to throw it out. Oh and did I mention- it is SO good! I will never buy store bought again, and why should I when a bag of sesame seeds cost 2.50$ a pound where a 10oz jar can be at least around 6$?

20120713-103533.jpg

And a whole bunch of other things

20120713-103801.jpg

Front Right: Pumpkin Seed Butter with Cinnamon and Honey
Middle: Sweet & Spicy Curried Lentil Hummus
Back Left: Green Cabbage Kimchi
Back Right: Dye free, preservative free Pickled Ginger

And of course one would think that I should be satisfied by this abundance of food.  Whereas I am refraining daily from buying an ice cream maker because I know the damage that could be done ;).  But on those hot summer nights where nothing feels better and all I want to do is drive literally 2 miles to the soft-serve, gluten free, 8 calories an 1oz! speciality store where I can have cookies and cream which is practically taboo in the gluten free world.  Yes it really is only 8 calories an ounce, and it is really freaking good and I don’t know how they do it.

So I hope you are enjoying your summer as much as I am enjoying mine, now its off to reading in the sunshine!

(If anyone wants recipes for anything let me know and I will share :) )

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Kitchen Therapy

  1. Aunt Melissa July 18, 2012 at 3:29 pm Reply

    May I please have the Polenta Pizza recipe?

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions July 18, 2012 at 3:44 pm Reply

      Sure! I used this for the crust http://www.yumsugar.com/Fast-Easy-Dinner-Polenta-Pizza-1699821 except for 2 people I used a little less than 1 tube. Then I used 1 red bell pepper, 1 poblano pepper and 1 yellow bell that was sauted with 1 cup of onions and few garlic cloves. I used half Daiya which is amazing vegan cheese and the other half regular mexican blend for BF. For the sauce I wanted to make a “faux mole” so I used some canned tomato sauce and added some spices and a bit of adobo and cocoa but this is something I am working on.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

