Raw Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Buckwheat Bread

20120726-092242.jpg

I’m so excited about this recipe because it is the first raw bread I’ve made in my new food dehydrator. I went back and forth on whether I really needed to invest in one but I just decided it was the best in order to save money in the long run. I originally wanted to buy it for making gluten free breads, wraps and crackers but now I have learned about the importance of soaking nuts and then dehydrating them. It is also awesome for making yogurt which I have also done with Lexie’s Almond & Hemp Yogurt (yum!, see picture below) There are so many awesome things you can do with it I’m still learning and trying lots of new recipes.

I have been craving cinnamon raisin bread for forever and I came across this recipe I adjusted slightly and used roughly 1-2 tbsp honey, slightly less raisins and I subbed some apple sauce because I didn’t have apples. I also added some crushed walnuts because I am obsessed with them right now but I suppose it’s no different from any other time. I laid the batter onto 1 dehydrator sheet and sliced into 4 large pieces.

20120727-075157.jpg

Sorry for the poor quality picture, I didn’t realize it at the time. I used sprouted buckwheat groats with my really high-tech sprouting system ;)

20120727-075310.jpg
For those who don’t know they are lots of benefits to “sprouting” beans, seeds, buckwheat, quinoa…etc. All that you are doing is activating the enzymes within the food and making the nutrients more available. This also increases the protein content and the end result will contain less carbs than if you were to just cook your buckwheat. I sprouted mine for about three days. All you need is to keep it moist but still exposed to air. Typically people use a mason jar with a screen lid but I don’t have one, (obviously)

Check out my little buckwheat sprouts

20120727-075705.jpg Buckwheat sprouts are really versatile and commonly used in raw foods because it is so nutrient dense and despite its name it is gluten free. It’s kinda my new best friend. Check out this site for more details on buckwheat sprouts.

I have enjoyed this bread alone, with tahini, maple syrup and crumbled up in yogurt-amazing.

20120727-075956.jpg

Do you see those crazy carmalized bananas?? This was kind of on accident because I sliced the bananas thicker than you should when dehydrating them and they turned out the same as when you pan fry them in butter and sugar- and it is just pure banana with its natural sugars. Better than candy

20120727-080031.jpg

This has been a really satisfying snack and breakfast. It is filling and doesn’t spike your blood sugar like typical cinnamon raisin treats. If you don’t have a dehydrator I would check out other sites recommendations for baking on low temperatures in your oven.

Click here for original recipe.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Raw Cinnamon Raisin Walnut Buckwheat Bread

  1. Joanne July 28, 2012 at 5:59 am Reply

    Very cool! I haven’t dabbled at all in raw baked goods because I don’t have a dehydrator but this sounds delicious!

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions July 29, 2012 at 12:12 am Reply

      Thanks! Yeah I waited a long time but I finally made the splurge and I’m glad I did but there seems to always be a way to make these without. LMK if you try it :)

  2. Katherine @ Green Thickies July 28, 2012 at 8:41 am Reply

    These look gorgeous. I love raw crackers but I don’t have a dehydrator either, but I keep trying to decide whether to save up for one too. I think the main thing that puts me off is waiting so long for your food and the space they take up. But the kale chips taste so much better in them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

