Caramelized Shallots, Cheddar, Sweet Potatoes & Kale Bread Pudding

20120816-204535.jpg
Last weekend the Bf and I went to a nearby farmers market and picked up some goodies. Oddly enough I was the one who wanted to go and he came along at the thought that there was a cigar store there (I know, I hate it). Funny thing is, he ended up getting more than me! He left with some local ham, gorgeous loaf of rye bread, cubanelle peppers and shallots. I got a few apples (been craving them for so long!) eggplant and tomatoes. So after 2 days he decided that the bread (that cost almost 5$ which I won’t even spend on a GF loaf for me) is no good anymore. WOAH- not according to me it’s not. So I began to think of how to redeem this loaf of bread he so thoughtlessly took for grantite.

My first thought was meatloaf but I made one not too long ago so I wanted to mix it up, plus it’s not exactly “summer fare”. Then I remembered I have been wanting to experiment with a bread pudding recipe and even more reason to make it because then his lunches for the week are covered! Win win!

So the sad part here is I cannot eat this but you could just as easily make this gluten free, especially if you have a crappy loaf (unfortunately there are many out there) that you don’t want to waste or like me you have failed 5, 6, 7 times, (ok I lost count) at making your own gluten free loaf that you are satisfied with. But thats for a whole nother post.

Now that I knew what I wanted to make I decided I wanted to use up the sweet potatoes that were in my fridge and after some googling I came across this recipe which I slightly modified. I thought I would sneak in the BF’s least favorite veg, kale. It is just so nutritious but I know I can’t force him to eat it. That is unless I smother it in shallots, cheddar and sweet potatoes. Yes I sort of treat this the same as a mom with her picky eaters. Plus it’s another way to nix the meat products without him realizing he’s eating a vegetarian meal ;)

20120816-214140.jpg I’m very very sneaky

Oh and what else is awesome about this recipe? It’s super easy. Maybe 15 minutes of prep AND cooking (not including oven time).

Feel free to trade out the ingredients for your favorite combinations. I’m already thinking of an Indian version of this, like Matar Paneer Bread Pudding- that would be epic. But then should I use naan instead? Hmmm….Like my ultimate comfort foods piled into one dish. Maybe I should wait till summer if officially over before I indulge in the carbs and cream sauces ;)

So go here for the original recipe since my modifications were basically cutting most of the ingredients in half and using a square pan and not a rectangle.

20120816-214933.jpg Maybe because this one kind of a 1 pot wonder, that’s why I found it so difficult to make this look good in photos. But I think you get the picture (no pun intended) that this is gooood or at least thats what he told me. :)

20120816-215442.jpg

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Caramelized Shallots, Cheddar, Sweet Potatoes & Kale Bread Pudding

  1. Dixie Caviar August 20, 2012 at 9:57 am Reply

    I’m so glad your boyfriend enjoyed the recipe (but also super sad that you couldn’t try if for yourself.) It is such a hearty fall/winter dish to bring to potlucks, especially when you know there are vegetarians present. It’s always a big hit!

  2. Rose September 11, 2012 at 7:39 am Reply

    You are so sneaky! If you got your boyfriend to eat this then I have to make this, because I have so many picky eaters in the Family. Thank you for sharing this.

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions September 11, 2012 at 7:31 pm Reply

      I defintitly recommend it it was delicious! Luckily I had gluten testing that same week and got to enjoy it, let me know if you get their approval :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

