Farmers Markets Study Break

20120903-210317.jpg

So if you saw my last post it will help make sense of the fact that I haven’t posted in a week. Starting school has definitely been an adjustment but it’s good to be back in a routine and actively working towards a goal. Plus it’s kind of fun making my own lunches for once. And surprisingly enough the BF is enjoying making some of his own too. Probably because it involves more meat and cheese but I do my best to keep it in moderation.

There have also been some other big changes going on- which I have been slightly over the moon about. After going through a bunch of tests it has been clarified that I don’t have a genetic gluten problem but may still have an intolerance. But so far I have been back on all things bouncy, fluffy and yeah just all around junky and it has been amazing. I won’t talk to much about it out of respect for all the celiacs out there but it has really made life easier in certain ways. Especially going back to school.

20120903-211925.jpg

Anyway back to these beautiful finds at the Amish farmers market nearby. This place is great and they have everything! Lots of produce, meats, furniture, cheese, baked goods, gluten free pantry goodies, chocolate, chocolate covered everything, homemade pies, donuts, homemade warm pretzels… It’s really a wonderful way to spend a Saturday morning and the BF loves the HUGE selection of every and any kind of meat, some you didn’t even know existed. I grabbed some lovely red leaf lettuce, bell peppers, lemons, avocados while the BF got some ham and amazing Swiss that is different than we have had before.

20120903-212449.jpg
Oh and then I had to hit trader joes because they have the best price for goat cheese which I was craving and then also found these delicious organic pink lady apples which have gotten me so excited for fall. Something I also scored and has now become my new obsession is sunflower seeds turned butter. I could probably live off of apples and nut/seed butter all season long. I’m totally addicted and it just gets worse every year. And who knew how healthy sun-butter was? Lots of protein, vitamin E, magnesium… And it’s so easy to make, just blend them up! I didn’t even need to add oil but I added a few drops of avocado oil only because I keep my spreads in the fridge (just in case) and I wanted to make sure it would stay really spreadable and it has. Phew!

20120903-213244.jpg
Oh and I forgot to mention these grape tomatoes which I practically devoured as soon as we got home from the market. They were probably the best I’ve had all summer. I really feel like I could never get sick of them and will be sad to see them go.

So I leave you with some yummy finds and no recipe since I haven’t made anything that I feel is worth posting. Don’t worry though I’m thinking of busting out the crockpot soon with the anticipation of fall- too soon maybe? ;)

20120903-214305.jpg

2 thoughts on “Farmers Markets Study Break

  1. Kylie September 5, 2012 at 9:25 pm Reply

    The beginning of the semester is always crazy, but I hope you’ve gotten back into your school routine:) And I tried sunflower butter once but I wasn’t a huge fan…I think I’m going to have to try it again! Every else seems to LOVE it:)

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions September 5, 2012 at 10:29 pm Reply

      You know I’ve bought it before and it was TOTALLY different tasting from when I made it. I think the seeds were plain and not roasting and now I have to have it when it’s roasted. (Then it really is a knock off of peanut butter!) :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

