Raw Sweet and Salty Mocha Almond Cacao Truffles

Quite a wordy title eh? Well I could probably use another 1000 different adjectives and it still wouldn’t do these truffles justice. If you are a chocolate, sweet, salty, coconut, nutty, chewy, crunchy, mocha, did I mention chocolate?- Lover, then you are at the right place because these are insanely good. And easy, which can mean trouble. So if I’m referring you to- slim down this recipe to 1 serving {1/4 cup almonds and figure out the rest} But if your like me and you are attempting to test your will power by putting these in the freezing and repeatedly saying I will only eat 2 at a time, then by all means start making these!!

20121006-123736.jpgI rarely ever make treats like these for myself because they can be very high in calories, fat, carb, and sugar dense. But awhile back I bought raw cacao beans because I wanted to make my own raw treats and actually try what real chocolate taste like. Let me do a favor and tell you- it is the most bitter taste ever. Just the smell can blow you out of the water after grinding the beans into powder. But there are some really great health benefits to real raw chocolate, which you have probably heard 1000 times. Or if your like me it is my justification to eating a lot of bitter chocolate. {covered in honey might I add :)}
 
Oh and I apologize, I cannot figure out why it won’t let me un-italicize, wordpress just doesn’t like me today- maybe because it can’t eat truffles…;)
 
Ingredients:
2 cups ground almonds
1 cup raw cacao powder
1/4 cup unrefined coconut oil
1/2 cup honey or agave
1/4 cup cold brewed coffee
3 dates
1/4 cup goji berries
 
Garnish:
1/2 cup coconut flakes
2-3 tbsp coconut sugar
1 tsp himalayn sea salt
 
20121006-135701.jpg
 
Directions:
-Soak goji berries & dates in hot water for 10 minutes to soften
- Grind almonds in food processor if whole to almost meal-like course
-Add everything else & pulse together till you get a sticky, rollable consistency.
-Grab a cookie sheet & cover with parchment paper
-Grab a small bowl & stir together your garnish
 
20121006-135643.jpg
-Take 1 tbsp and roll into a ball with your hands (yes, it’s a messy and delicious job) and then roll in garnish. Place on cookie sheet & once finished place in freezer if your using within a few hours or leave them in the fridge in air tight container layered & lined with parchment. I would estimate they keep for a few weeks in the fridge but use your own disgression.
20121006-123654.jpg

These bites are packed with MUFA’s from the almonds, lauric acid from the coconut oil, vitamin A & C from the goji berries and antioxidants from cacao!

I use mercola because he cites info from peer reviewed studies.  Now why is it not itializicing here?! Ahh techonology…

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Raw Sweet and Salty Mocha Almond Cacao Truffles

  1. Gabby @ the veggie nook October 6, 2012 at 7:48 pm Reply

    Awww you poor thing with all those technical difficulties!

    I love the taste of raw cacao beans! Almost like coffee but a little different! These sound amazing too :)

  2. heatherscreativeconcoctions October 7, 2012 at 8:07 am Reply

    Thanks, they’re so addicting! Kinda want 1 for breakfast ;)

  3. Preena @ A Teaspoon of Turmeric October 8, 2012 at 11:23 pm Reply

    Sweet and salty combo is awesome, these look so yummy and how you describe them makes me want them now! I think I have all the ingredients on hand except gogis so I’ll try this very soon. Great blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

