Green and Glowing from the Inside-Out

So yes it’s been awhile since I posted.  But you can forgive me because last week was lots of midterms.  I’m still alive though, and cooking, and especially eating.

Plus I have a few new tricks up my sleeves and they don’t exactly involve eating but there is a recipe.  Actually you will be wearing it. If you want gorgeous, glowing and smooth skin.

It involves a little of this.

And this

and a little scrubby.

I have been doing this 1-2x week and it’s awesome! Literally it’s like having a seaweed spa facial but paying a fraction of the cost and getting immediate results.  A word of caution though, if you have never eaten spirulina or tried it on your face, make a very small amount of this and try on your hand or arm to make sure you don’t have an allergic reaction.  You may see some redness and it made my face itch slightly while I was wearing it for the first time but this is from the high amounts of Vitamin A that is removing those superficial layers of skin.  Another word of caution is this is slightly messing when rinsing off so if you are not doing this in the shower, make sure your not wearing or near anything that you can stain.

And absolutely wear sunscreen when you go outside.  Your skin becomes more vulnerable to sun damage because you are removing those top layers of skin and exposing the deeper layers.  Damaging these layers can cause more harm and aging so wear your sunscreen!

To Make Rejuvinating Spirulina Mask:

Mix 1/2 tbsp spirulina with a few dashes of olive oil and a pinch of your usual face cleanser OR 1 tsp sugar.  If this is your first time I suggest only wearing it for 5 minutes and work your way up to 15 adding 5 minutes each time.  I also recommend a splash of raw apple cider vinegar which can help remove any build up and has 100’s of wonderful uses and benefits.

Once time is up remove with water and if you use any type of toner or makeup removing cloths in order to remove everything.

You can use a pinch of your typical moisturizer, but to really reap the benefits, cover your face with avocado oil (not dripping) and before you go to bed just lightly pat excess so you don’t drench your pillow.  The vitamin E works to remove the redness the mask may have caused and is extremely anti-inflammatory for your face.

I only do the mask 1-2x week, but I am using the avocado oil every night and it is amazing.  It is healing any pimples I may have and picked (oops!) rapidly faster and the texture of my skin is much smoother.

Ok there is a recipe, I couldn’t help myself ;)

Now to really cure this skin problem from the inside out, I recommend the delicious Glowing Green Smoothie by Kimberly Synder.  I have become addicted to this and I know it sounds crazy putting cilantro in your smoothie but it is one of those don’t knock it till you try it. Picture from Kimberely’s Blog.

I have altered it a bit and I use

1 celery stick

1/2 an apple

2 cups spring mix or baby spinach

small handful cilantro

1/2 cup seedless cucumber

water to blend and ice

occasionally 1/2 frozen banana

I also add a few things to bump up the anti-inflammatory factor even more like 1 tsp turmeric, 1 tsp raw unpasterized and unfiltered apple cider vinegar and 1 tsp spirulina.  I occassionally also add wheat grass (not the liquid the real thing-yes it does taste awful so only use a little bit) matcha green tea powder and fun toppings like goji berries, honey bee pollen granules, hemp seeds, avocado, oat bran or granola of course. (Not all at once)

You can of course personalize and create your own green smoothie but I recommend trying the original first, it will surprise you how good it really is and how good you feel after.  Check out Kimberly’s Blog for all the health benefits plus lots of other great info!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Green and Glowing from the Inside-Out

  1. gohsyoungconservatives October 21, 2012 at 1:35 pm Reply

    I eat a green smoothie every morning! This recipe tastes awesome:

    1 Banana 2 Cups Raw Kale 1 Cup Raw Spinach Handful of fresh mint leaves 1/2 Lemon 1 Tbs Flax Seed Powder 5 ice cups, 1 cup water

    ________________________________

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions October 21, 2012 at 1:39 pm Reply

      I know they are so addicting!! Yum I’ve made ones very close to that and I LOVE when they have mint and basal! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

