Ramen Remix

Another Thanksgiving has come and gone.  I hope yours was as good as mine.  Taking two days off from papers, studying and all things responsibility was the perfect way to recharge for the last leg of the semester.  Oh and I made my first pie.  Which was also my first gluten-free pie.  Pie crust- intimidating enough not to mention the no gluten part.  And of course I’m going to keep that a secret until after everyone has eaten and enjoyed it.  Thank goodness for King Arthur flour.

 

Luckily this was a success and a pie to make Paula Deen proud.  Pecan Pumpkin Pie infused with blackstrap molasses rum.  Although if I had came up with the original recipe I would probably call it Butter and Brown sugar pie with a smidge of pumpkin. Since it was Thanksgiving though I don’t feel guilty about eating a weeks worth of saturated fat.  Plus the bf really wanted pecan pie so this was my compromise.  I got the recipe here.

20121124-192044.jpgI may have had a bit for breakfast today. Pumpkin and pecans are superfoods after all ;)

 

Switching gears to something a little less artery clogging – my take on one of my old favorite staples, Ramen noodles.  I am even feeling ballsy enough to call this Detox Ramen Noodles since it’s filled with veggies, natural broth and miso.  Sounds pretty contradictoy right?  Well the original is a serious health offender and if you are brave I dare you to check out the video of ramen digestion.  It’s out there- and it’s scary.

20121124-192054.jpgI won’t get into the descriptives of the video but I will talk about how easy and delicious this was.  Plus it is still just as comforting and doesn’t give you an MSG hangover.  Especially with the temperatures dropping it has me craving warm and nourishing meals that I can make quickly.  This has become my new favorite go to for chilly nights and no time to cook.

20121124-192103.jpgFor the noodle sub in I used kelp noodles which I would probably eat everyday if they weren’t a tad costly.  They serve a really similar texture to ramen and if you prefer them softer just add them to the broth sooner.  I like them with texture so I add them once I take this off the heat.  This dish is really simple and versatile so feel free to use your favorite vegetables.

Ingredients:

1/2-1 cup vegetable broth (low sodium, gluten free)

1/2 small onion

1 or 2 garlic cloves (I may have used 5. Yes I have a problem)

handful carrots chopped

2 celery stalks chopped

2 handfuls baby kale or other green veg

1/4 cup sliced bella mushrooms

1 tbsp minced ginger, or to taste

1 tbsp miso paste

Dried herbs (I use herbamare)

Directions:

-Warm broth in deep skillet.  Add onions, carrots, celery and saute till slightly softened.

-Add garlic, ginger, mushrooms & any seasonings.  Saute 2-3 minutes.

-Add green vegetable (baby kale cooks quickly like spinach thats why I added it last.  If you have regular kale it will take longer to cook and should be added with mushrooms.) Add noodles now for softer texture- or

-Take off heat and stir noodles into soup.  Add to your bowl and wait until it is cool enough to eat and then add miso paste.  If you add it to the pan it will kill the healthy bacteria and no longer have good probiotics.

Enough your health boosting Ramen!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

