Asian Buckwheat Soba Noodle & Chicken Bowl

Now who doesn’t love a gorgeous bowl of noodles doused in asian flavors with a bit of crunchy peanuts and grilled chicken?  Throw in some fresh, crisp vegetables and scallions and before you know it there’s an asian invasion inside your mouth.  Wow I am really on a roll lately with bad puns…

I found these noodles at this AMAZING gluten free store that is unfortunately 2 miles away from my house. I say that because it has an incredible selection which makes my eyes bulge and my money disappear.  The appeal of packaged gluten free goodies is often too tempting and I opt not to indulge but some hearty gluten free pasta can be a girls best friend when in a pinch.  Fortunately for the BF though because this was an on the fly meal for him, which he gobbled up faster than I could clean the kitchen.

The saddest part though is that I made this months ago, like maybe in June?? :/ I took the pictures and then left them to hang out on my phone till tonight when I was cleaning through the clutter and all the 1,000’s of apps I have & don’t use.

This is your fairly classic combination of asian flavors and as always make to order for your own taste buds!

Ingredients:

1 serving buckwheat soba noodles (always check for GF if needed. Soba does not guarantee it is GF)

1 carrot julienned

1 serving pre-cooked chicken

2 scallions cleaned and sliced

1 tsp grated fresh ginger

1 clove garlic, minced

2 tbsp tamari

1 tbsp sesame oil

1 tsp oyster or fish sauce

1 tsp red chili flakes

1 tbsp rice wine vinegar

**flavorless or peanut oil to saute, or for lighter version use low sodium vegetable broth

Directions:

-Boil noodles according to directions.

-Mix sauce ingredients, tamari-vinegar.

-Add oil or veg broth to a deep skillet, bring to medium-high heat and add carrots, ginger, garlic.  Saute for 2-3 minutes until carrots soften.

-Add noodles with a bit of pasta water if needed and mix together.  Add your chicken & sauce ingredients & mix till everything is coated and warmed up.

-Remove from heat and add scallions and 1 tbsp crushed peanuts or sesame seeds if allergic to peanuts.

Put in your favorite bowl and eat up!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Asian Buckwheat Soba Noodle & Chicken Bowl

  1. Kylie December 10, 2012 at 7:16 pm Reply

    I have yet to try soba noodles…which is ridiculous because I’m sure they sell the noodles at my grocery store and I like buckwheat. There really are no excuses. Anyways like looks good:)) and I really just like the words ‘chicken bowl’ for some reason. I think it reminds me of Chipotle. A happy thing for sure. But this looks great, I’m always up for some Asian food:)

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions December 10, 2012 at 7:35 pm Reply

      lol too funny I’ve only experienced chipotle once and loved it. And actually I flubbed (insert made up word here) and they are black rice noodles, either way worth trying :)

      • Kylie December 10, 2012 at 7:39 pm

        haha either way it looks delicious:))

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

