Super Power Hot Chocolate

This hot chocolate has super powers like immune boosting, blood sugar balancing, packed with omega 3’s to make you even more beautiful, antioxidants & flavonoids just to mention a few.20130119-145703.jpg

Needless to say I am an obvious health advocate and also shamelessly obsessed with Dr. Oz. Now I don’t live and breathe by everything he says but I do like watching his show to see if I can learn something new. The other day he had on Sanjay Gupta who I never knew he was a neurologist and shared one of his treats he has at the end of the day. He made a “milk” drink & warmed it up with a dash of turmeric, ginger and cinnamon which I thought was pretty interesting and surprised I hadn’t tried this yet considering I put those ingredients in everything. So today I had to try it but made it into a “secret” hot chocolate and I also added a few other of my favorite ingredients. Shockingly, it was good. Really good, and you don’t taste the turmeric or ginger like you would think.

Doesn’t this look like a heart? Maybe it’s saying something… ;)

heart

Especially with all this “flu epidemic” going on I up the ante on my regular routine because personally I’m not a flu shot fan. So for a little extra nourishment, try this hot chocolate, it’s really comforting and delicious.

A teaspoon of turmeric helps the medicine go down! ;)

Ingredients

1 cup hemp milk ( or almond, coconut…)

1/2 tsp turmeric, cinnamon, ginger

dash cardamom

1 tbsp cocoa powder & dark cocoa powder

1 tsp maca powder

*optional 1/2 tsp matcha green tea powder

1 tsp vanilla extract

stevia to taste

Warm up on stove top or in the microwave. Top with a smidge of coconut cream for a little extra indulgence!

20130119-145653.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Super Power Hot Chocolate

  1. Gabby @ the veggie nook January 19, 2013 at 8:23 pm Reply

    Wonderful recipe Heather! I especially love the addition of turmeric!

  2. Preena @ A Teaspoon of Turmeric February 17, 2013 at 3:22 pm Reply

    Great addition of turmeric in your hot chocolate! That’s how I do it EVERY DAY!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

