Tropical Matcha, Avocado and Pineapple Smoothie

Good Morning!

Today for breakfast I was craving something light, healthy and sweet to have a few hours before the gym.  Lately I have been obsessed with Match Green Tea, either putting it into different recipes or have it in teas.  If you have not had it before I definitely recommend trying it.  The health benefits in one teaspoon of Matcha are equal to 6 cups of regular green tea! I love starting my day with it, it just perks me right up.  To pair with it I found a pineapple that has been hiding in the back of my fridge and it helped balance the bitterness of the matcha. To add some richness I thought avocado would be perfect especially since I cannot seem to get enough of it lately.  It is such a versatile fruit it works great in smoothies, for lunches as a spread, in salads and especially in desserts!  To make this breakfast even more perfect I had just enough coconut milk left over in my fridge to make it that much more decadent!  Such a refreshing and invigorating way to start my morning, making my morning laundry feel less daunting.  (I am going to pick up pretty dishes so I can have pictures to show these wonderful creations, but I thought the magic bullet cup just didn’t do this justice so I decided not to post it, you will just have to trust me! 🙂

Ingredients:

1/5 avocado (roughly 2 tbsp)

1 cup almond milk

1/4 canned coconut milk

1/4-1/2 cup fresh diced pineapple

1 tsp-1 tbsp (I like a lot of matcha)

2 packets stevia

2-3 ice cubes

-Mix all in blender, I used magic bullet.

-Other additional add-ins could be Chia or Flax seeds, any nut/seed butter or even banana to make it a truly tropical Pina Colada get-away.

Health Benefits:

High in vitamin C and manganese.  Manganese helps thyroid function, helps your body metabolize fat, and helps balance blood sugar.

Matcha’s ORAC (Oxygen Radical Absorbance Capacity) 1300, in comparison blueberries are 90 which is considered high.

Almond milk is high in vitamin E and calcium, providing significantly more than dairy milk, in addition to being low calorie.

Avocados are a power house high in health MUFAs, vitamin E, fiber, vitamin K and not to mention they are great for your skin!

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Tropical Matcha, Avocado and Pineapple Smoothie

  1. Mike Desch February 4, 2012 at 5:54 am Reply

    some truly interesting information, well written and broadly speaking user friendly .

Leave a Reply

