Indian Spiced Zucchini & Carrot Fritter Sandwiches

Welcome to my new favorite go to lunch recipe.  This is so easy to make and SO good.  This is another convenient and healthy “fast food” recipe.  These fritters are something I have been making in the beginning of the week so whenever I don’t feel like cooking I grab this or if I need to pack a lunch fast.  They are super nutritional and packed with a lot of flavor without a lot of calories. Let’s start!

Preheat oven to 400 degrees unless pan frying.

1. First you want to grab a colander. Put it in your sink so you can drain the excess liquid from carrot and zucchini.  Take a vegetable peeler and peel 3 medium zucchini and 3-5 carrots.  Salt generously. (you want them to be the same amount, roughly 2 cups each vegetable) I forgot to take a pic inside the colander, this is after drained.2. Squeeze out excess fluid. If pan frying you will want them dry. The easiest way to get them dry without having to continually squeeze the water out is after they have sat for 1 hour in colander, grab a large tuberware and lay a paper towel on the bottom. Layer vegetables no more than 2 inches high then put another paper towel on top.  Refridgerate for at least 6 hours or easiest is over night.

3. Now grab your spices, I used 1.5 tsp tumeric, 1 tbs ground coriander, 2 tbs Madra’s Curry powder (I put in little bottle for convience) and 1 tbs ground cumin. (I like a lot of spice) The flours I used are 1/2 cup almond flour and 1/4 chick pea flour.  I also added 1/4cup milled flax seed for omega 3’s!  I choose a combination of almond flour with chick pea flour because I don’t like the taste of straight chick pea flour which is traditionally used in Indian cooking and it also adds MUFAs which I strive to have a little in each meal.  Mix all well. Optional and depending on if you need to thicken up batter, add 1 egg and 2 tbs cashew paste.

(Cashew paste is made by combining 2 tbsp cashews with 4 tbsp hot water and let it sit for 10 mins. This allows the cashews to absorb some water and I blend it in the magic bullet cup.  This is commonly used in Indian cooking to make sauces meatier and thicken.

4. Grab a tin foil lined baking pan and spray with non-stick.  Make 15 fritters (or pan fry with coconut or olive oil)

5. I have these as fritter lettuce “sandwiches” with a spiced sour cream which is what makes the whole lunch.

You can really jazz them up with some shredded authentic mexican cheese.

I store them in a container in the fridge so whenever I need something quick or I feel like being lazy it only takes a minute to assemble. You could make this into a wrap and shred the lettuce but this is my GF version.

Ingredients:

3 Medium zucchini

3 medium carrots

1/2 grated or diced spanish onion (or sweet onion)

1-2 garlic cloves (I use micro-plane)

1/2 cup almond flour

1/4 cup chick pea flour

1/4 milled flax seed

1.5 tsp tumeric

2 tbsp curry powder

1 tbsp ground coriander

1 tbsp ground cumin

1 piece preferred lettuce for each fritter, I used red leaf because it is very nutritional but if you wanted to do typical “lettuce wraps” you can use bibb lettuce.

*optional 2 tbsp cashew paste and 1 egg for binding and meatier flavor

Toppings

1/4 cup Mexican Cheese per 1 serving

2 tbsp sour cream mixture per 1 serving

Directions:

1. Use vegetable peeler or cheese grater if you prefer smaller pieces for carrot and zucchini. Place in colander to strain liquid for 1 hour minimum, make sure to salt generously.

2. Once liquid is drained, add everything till you get a “pasty” consistency so they stick together without a lot of effort.

3. Makes 15 spread on tin foiled lined baking sheet or you could make them smaller for appetizer portions. My suggestion would be to put them in small mini-muffin pan to make even simpler.

4. Wrap in lettuce and top with 1 tbsp sour cream mixture  https://heatherscreativeconcoctions.wordpress.com/2012/02/06/spicy-sour-cream/ and sprinkle of cheese.

Nutritional information for 1 fritter: (includes cashew paste and egg, not toppings)

96 Calories

9 grams carbs

5 grams fat

4 grams protein

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Indian Spiced Zucchini & Carrot Fritter Sandwiches

  1. […] as a great kid pleaser for moms to try!  I did not salt and drain the zucchini like I did with the fritters  but I don’t think that they needed […]

Leave a Reply

