Meaty Mushroom, Millet & Caramelized Onion Swiss Burger

20120724-104148.jpg

Every now and then I crave a juicy, savory cheeseburger, but I am immediately turned off when I think about how they make me feel afterward. So I had some left over mushrooms from my pizza as well as cooked millet from my granola bars and I thought they might make a nice veggie burger. (Veggie burgers are a great way to get rid of left overs, even if you don’t want them at the time, most freeze well.)

Now if you haven’t observed already I’m not exactly Mrs. Photography with my 7 year old lithium battery camera. So I was really on the fence with this one and have decided I’m not going to post the picture because it doesn’t do it justice. Since I am GF (gluten free) I did not buy hamburger rolls to eat with this, plus I’m just not a fan of having them with veggie burgers, I prefer toppings and more interesting things than bread. So the presentation was lacking on this one big time and the burger tasted SOO GOOD that I didn’t want to skew anyone away from trying this recipe out. And even if you aren’t tempted, you must try making a veggie burger with millet if you are a converted vegetarian, it resembles ground beef so much in texture, and when your pair it with mushrooms it’s the closest tasting thing yet.

For cheese the obvious choose was swiss and conviently enough I had a sauce that I made awhile back still in my fridge that I got from here that was basically its soulmate. (*Note- I don’t have saffron it’s way too much $$ for me to invest in a infrequently used spice & I don’t think I used that much olive oil that it called for. I have had this in my fridge probably a good 2 months and it is totally fine so it is something that keeps well. I used an old honey jar to store.)

Ingredients:

1 cup cooked millet

4oz mushrooms, (I used button)

1/2 spanish onion, or sweet

1 egg- (for vegan combine 1 tbsp flax seed with 2 tbsp water and let sit for 5 minutes till thickened)

1/2 cup almond flour- (if you want a less dense burger use wheat flour if your not GF, or oat flour)

2-3 garlic cloves, for less intense flavor use roasted garlic

optional- 2 tbsp flax seed (I always add flax for omega 3)

4-6 slices swiss cheese

-Saute 2 tbsp olive oil with onions and mushrooms until well caramelized, 15-20 minutes.

-Once cooled, place in a blender and make a meal-like texture so it is not pureed. Mix with all other ingredients and allow it to sit for at least 1 hour, recommended 4 hours, or make the day ahead so you can just whip it up the next day. (When I have busy weeks, I leave the mixture in the bowl all week and only pull out what I need for one when I am hungry-yay no work!) 🙂

-Pan fry or bake in the oven on 375 for 10 minutes on tin foil lined baking sheet.

-Place baking sheet on stove top and place cheese on top, the heat of the patty will melt the cheese, or if pan frying once flipped the burger after 5 minutes top with cheese and place a lid to melt it.

-Top with yellow bell pepper sauce and additional toppings like your favorite slaw (mine is jicama and red cabbage with tahini vinaigrette.

Seriously, this was the closest resembling “burger” that I have ever made and I have made a lot. It is very simple and so delicious and you must try!

Perhaps if I am able to shoot a better picture the next time I eat it I will add it to the post but you will just have to trust me on this one!

20120724-104115.jpg

Tagged: , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Meaty Mushroom, Millet & Caramelized Onion Swiss Burger

  1. Aunt Melissa February 14, 2012 at 6:36 pm Reply

    Heather, this is the first of your recipes that I’ve read thru. The name intrigued me. Now I have to try these! Sounds soooo good! I am not a fan of beef burger; usually smother them with onions and shrooms to kill the beef flavor. But these….looking forward to trying them. I’ll let you know when I do.

  2. […] the “hamburger” part I used my go to millet-mushroom combo and just crumbled it all over. It’s my favorite ground meat substitute and obviously […]

Leave a Reply

