Vegan Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chili

When it gets cold out and I have a busy week ahead of me, I always go to chili.  I have developed many variations and this is definitely one of the best.  I had not planned on making any more chili for awhile but a friend asked me to make her her own batch since she is super busy, so I thought I would share my go to recipe that can be done start to finish in under an hour.  (Beets are not part of the recipe I was using them for something else and thought they looked pretty 🙂This is a hearty, comforting,  no guilt chili & is amazing with some shredded mexican cheese on top! (Didn’t think of that for this photo-shucks!)  Tons of vitamins and minerals, along with fiber and protein to keep you full & of course lots of flavor!

Ingredients:

1 large onion

3 cloves garlic-minced

2 sweet potatoes-peeled and cubed

1 can black beans

1 can red kidney beans

1 chopped yellow and red bell pepper

-optional- jalapeno-deseeded

1 28oz can crushed tomatoes

2 tbsp honey/agave-if vegan

3 tbsp chili powder (or more to taste)

2 tbsp ground cumin

Directions:

-Saute chopped onion until translucent.  Add sweet potato, bell peppers, chopped roughly the same size, saute for one minute.  Add the garlic & saute until fragrant. Add chili powder and cumin or any other spice mix you prefer.  (I kept this very mild because my friend does not like spicy food.-I know she’s crazy)  Add the crushed tomatoes, beans and honey.  Turn heat high to almost boil and then reduce to simmer with lid on.  Simmer until the sweet potatoes are cooked. Taste to see if it needs seasoning.  The flavor always enhances after it sits in the fridge for at least 2-6 hours.  Have a bowl with blended mexican cheese & sprinkle broken tortilla chips for some texture.

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “Vegan Sweet Potato & Black Bean Chili

  1. […] that? I have learned my lesson and from now on I will stick with what I know- especially since my vegetarian chili recipe is […]

Leave a Reply

