Ginger Carrot Faux-lafels with Tahini sauce

If it’s one thing I love, it’s falafels. It’s like a middle eastern french fry that is so versatile I’m constantly thinking of new ways to change up the classic chickpea fritter. My current vegetable obsession is carrots, luckily I haven’t turned orange yet.  Since I had a bunch in the fridge I thought this would be fun to have as a falafel & I was inspired by this recipe. I always like to use fresh ingredients as opposed to dried or powdered, so I used some ginger (we have an ongoing love affair) onion and garlic as well as a classic pinch of cumin. Some almond flour for protein and garbanzo flour to keep it classic. You could use all garbanzo and pan fry to keep it authentic style, but I don’t like the strong bean flavor of the flour.  I baked in the oven on tin foil lined baking sheets drizzle with olive oil which helped to crisp and brown the outsides like the traditional deep fried falafel.  I had to pair it with a tahini sauce both because it’s classic and I am obsessed with tahini.  Really, I have no problem at all eating it with a spoon.

Here’s an up close look at those pretty fritters!

 

I am still working on making homemade GF wraps.  The one shown here is my 3rd attempt at a homemade wrap/crepe made with millet flour and brown rice flour that is ok but not what I had intended.  If anyone has a good recipe please share!!   I think I will have success using buckwheat flour which I am awaiting its arrival in the mail, along with lots of other goodies. (like PB2!!!!)

Ingredients:

2 heaping cups chopped carrot

1/2 cup almond flour

1/4 cup garbanzo bean flour (in organic food aisle)

2 cloves garlic (use microplane to make it easy)

1 tbsp ginger- microplane (use powder for less intense flavor)

1/2 onion chopped

1 tsp cumin

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees if baking, or set up frying oil in deep enough pan with oil at 325 degrees

-Place chopped carrots in food processor and pulse to get small even pieces.

-Add ginger, garlic, onion and spices and pulse to continue rough chop, or blend longer for more smooth falafel.

-Move to a mixing bowl and add flour.

-Use an ice cream scoop or just 2 tbsp to make golf ball sized falafels and push down to make them slightly flat.  The authentic way is to deep fry, but I prefer to place them on a tin foil lined baking sheet so not only are they healthier but I don’t have to stand over the frying pan or clean up the mess.

-Bake for 15-20 minutes until they are light brown on the bottom.  You can flip halfway through to crisp both sides.

-Eat in a pita or lettuce wrap and smother with tahini sauce (click website above for recipe) as well as your preferred toppings!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

