Roasted Cauliflower and Shallots on Zucchini Pizza Crust

I have been wanting to try a veggie pizza crust for a little while now and I am very pleased with how this turned out.  Considering all I did was grate 2 zucchini, add a bit of seasonings and almond flour for protein it turned out amazing for such little effort! I am definitely going to try lots of other veggies and making them a “crust” and I could see this as a great kid pleaser for moms to try!  I did not salt and drain the zucchini like I did with the fritters  but I don’t think that they needed it.

As usual my pictures don’t do it justice, I will eventually invest some time (& money) in attempting to make my pictures as mouth watering as my recipes are. (I don’t know why I choose to shoot the piece with the super toasted edge…)

This recipe from prep to table took about an hour, but considering the cook time took up 90% of it, it is a very easy recipe to make especially when you don’t feel like cooking. This was savory, nutty and so flavorful you have to try it!  Alternate with your favorite toppings–I plan on reversing and making a cauliflower pizza crust with…wait I’ll share with you on another post 😉

Pizza Crust Ingredients:

2 Medium organic zucchini

2 whole eggs (could omit and do flax egg for vegan)

1/4 almond flour

1 tsp baking powder

optional 2 tbsp psyllium husks 

1/4 cup grated parmesan

Directions:

-Preheat oven to 400 degrees

– Grate zucchini with skins for nutritional benefits and mix all the rest of ingredients.  Spread to desired thinness on non-stick cookware and bake for 20-25 minutes. It is not crispy at this point.  I then flipped it over and added my toppings and baked for another 5 minutes.

Calories in 4 servings (This is very filling): 160 calories, 10g carb, 11g protein, 10g fat

Roasted Veggie Toppings:

-Chop 1 head cauliflower and place on tin-foil lined baking sheet

-Slice 1 shallot

-1/2 head garlic with top cut off so the cloves are showing but still intact

-3oz Asiago Cheese

Calories in 4 servings: 100 calories majority from fat and protein, very low carb

Directions

-Drizzle olive oil, S&P and roast on 400 degree till slightly browned about 15-20 minutes.  (I did this the same time the pizza crust was cooking.)

-Place toppings on top of zucchini crust once it is flipped, top with your favorite cheese, I did asiago YUMM and bake another 5 minutes.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

