Avocado and Goat Cheese Smothered Sockeye with Cauliflower Fried Rice

This week, me and the bf celebrated our four year anniversary by spending the day in the city.  He took care of the whole day and I wanted to make him an especially nice dinner for his gift in addition to all the Mad Men seasons- (we are hooked and so ready for season 5!)  I loooveee salmon and I got really lucky getting Sockeye on Salmon at my first trip to Whole Foods!  Yes I have had a fear of going there because I know I would outspend my budget since I am able to do so every week at any grocery store.  I literally pulled up and I felt like a kid going to a candy store, the anticipation was so much that I did not take a cart so I could only buy what I could carry.  I apologize for the sloppy plating, but he was pulling the plate once I took one picture because he was so ready to eat it so I couldn’t take 20 pictures like I usually do.  Considering this was a fairly light meal in that it was Salmon and vegetables it was very satisfying and not difficult to prepare at all!

Ingredients:

2 portions Wild Sockeye Salmon- (I prefer this among all because it cannot be farm raised)

1/2 avocado

2 oz goat cheese

1 tsp herb de Provence

1 medium zucchini

4 carrots

1/2 head roasted cauliflower

1 shallot

5oz bella mushroom or other preferred

soy sauce (gluten free if necessary)

sesame oil

fresh ginger

Directions: Prep 10-15 minutes

-De-bone fish or ask them at the store to do it for you.

-Blend or hand whip avocado and goat cheese and splash with fresh lemon juice. Mix in herbs de Provence. Keep refrigerated until 15 minutes before you cook the salmon.

-Cut cauliflower into florets, lay on tin foil lined baking sheet and sprinkle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Bake 15 minutes on 400 degrees turning once for best results. Once cooled enough toss into blender to get rice consistency.  Don’t overdo it like I did, but then you can call it cauliflower polenta 😉

-Shave the zucchini and carrots (use skin on zucchini if organic and washed for extra nutrients) with potato peeler or mandolin.

Directions: Cook time 15 minutes Preheat oven to 350 degrees

– Saute shallots until fragrant, add mushrooms and cook for five minutes.  Add 1 tbsp fresh ginger and cook one minute.  Add carrots and zucchini.  Add few dashed sesame oil and soy sauce.  Optional add orange zest and splash orange juice.

-Coat the top of salmon with avocado-goat cheese mixture.  Bring saute/oven safe pan to medium heat add 1 tbsp butter (salmon and butter are best friends in my book) & 1 tbsp sesame oil.

-Cook salmon for 4 minutes in pan and then place into oven to finish cooking another 4-5 minutes or to your liking. I don’t like salmon cooked more than medium rare/medium the most.  Somehow I ended up cooking it exactly how I like although there was some cursing in fear of overcooking.

-Meanwhile, to make “fried” cauliflower rice, put it back in the pan with splash sesame oil and soy sauce till warm and coated. 

(This is my plate, looks a bit nicer but not perfect). This was REALLY good and REALLY easy.  When you are going to make this just make sure you have everything ready because all the ingredients cook quickly. This can definitely be done on a busy weeknight in 20 minutes or less.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

