Gluten Free Buckwheat Tortillas

I am so ecstatic to finally find a successful gluten free wrap recipe!  And the best part is it is easy and fast to make- YAY 🙂   After my trip to Whole Foods I was surprised to find out they did not have any gluten free wraps because I had given up on making my own after three failed attempts.  Yesterday I decided to try another recipe that I only made minor changes to and they came out perfect! I found the original recipe here and I used her gluten free mix with a slight variation because I do not have fava bean flour.

Ingredients in Gluten Free Mix:

Everything the same but I subbed oat flour for fava bean flour.  You could do 1 cup garbanzo bean flour but I was afraid it would taste too bean-y & I really don’t like that flavor.  I’m sure you could do more sorghum or Millet for a nuttier flavor or research other mixes, there are a lot out there.

Ingredients in Wrap:

1.5 tbsp flax seed

6 tbsp water

3 tbsp room temperature coconut oil

2 tbsp buckwheat flour

1/2 cup GF flour

1/4 tapioca flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp guar gum

Directions:


-Mix flax seed and water and allow to thicken (or omit both and use 1 egg)

-In separate bowl, sift all dry ingredients while flax seed is thickening.

– Add room temperature coconut oil to flax seed mixture, stir well.

– Combine the two mixture to form “dough” and refridgerate for 10 mintues.  It will harden slightly on the outside because of the coconut oil.

-Grab a rolling mat, rolling pin and 2 pieces of plastic wrap or parchment paper.

-Grab dough from the fridge and roll into a ball and divide in half, then into quarters if you want four.  You can make 6 but they are very thin.

-Take 1 of the quarters and roll in between parchment paper.  Once you get it to your desired thinness, peel apart one layer of parchment and carefully flip the wrap either into your hand or into the pan and peel the second layer of parchment.  This is super easy when the dough is still chilled slightly so you should do this somewhat quickly so the coconut oil doesn’t soften too much and become too flimsy to handle.

-Continue placing dough between parchment, rolling out and pan frying.

-Spray frying pan, use a non-stick or like me drop a dollop of olive oil in a pan and swirl with paper towel.  Lay the wrap flat and cook about one minute of med-low heat.  Flip after 1-2 minutes max (you don’t want to over cook and make it stiff).

-Use right away or store in air tight container in the fridge with paper towel/parchment in between each wrap.  If storing in the fridge warm slightly (10 seconds in the microwave)  because the coconut oil will have hardened.

-Stuff them with your favorite tex mex combination,  make quesdillas or for something quick to grab make PB&J!  You could also make 4 thicker ones and use as a single serve pizza crust with endless possibilities.

The end result was just like a tortilla but I advise to not sub oat flour because I think you could get a “more pliable” result using a softer flour like sorghum or possibly the fava bean.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free Buckwheat Tortillas

  1. Theresa February 26, 2012 at 8:31 pm Reply

    Looks delicious-can’t wait to give it a whirl!

  2. […] everything element of spicy and sweet with a little tang from the sour cream.Besides the homemade GF tortilla, this is a no-cook recipe, YAY .  I am all about convinence and I don’t know about all of […]

  3. […] used a few pieces of my Buckwheat Tortilla Wrap that I just cut into chip size.  This was soooooo good and cheesy and satisfying, made for a very […]

Leave a Reply

