Reeses Inspired Bacon Wrapped Dates

So bacon has somehow made another appearance on my blog, but as I said before, you can eat whatever you want just portion it out. That is exactly what I have done here with my Peanut Butter stuffed Bacon Wrapped Dates, topped with melted Chocolate & a sprinkle of sea salt. Wordy description indeed but it is worth every tedious-taste-tempting bite 😉I had company stay with me this weekend and I wanted to have something on the sweet side for an after breakfast treat and since all my Macaroons were gone I needed something that is quick to prepare and quick cooking. I have been wanting to try a bacon wrapped date recipe and the idea of chocolate and bacon has been swirling in my mind recently, so I thought I should combine them both. Needless to say they were a hit and lasted a whole 3 minutes until they were all gone. And considering all these ingredients are on the “forbidden foods” list for dieters (hate that word) you can have 3 of these puppies for under 150 calories- that’s what I call a steal.

So make these for guest, or make them for yourself and remember, all good things happen in 3’s 😉

Ingredients:

6 slices bacon

12 dates

1/4 peanut butter

1/4 cup favorite chocolate

sea salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Cut 6 slices of bacon in half. Grab one date and take 1/2 tsp peanut butter and stuff inside. Grab 1 half piece of bacon and wrap around the date. Assemble the rest and place them on tin foil lined baking sheet that has been sprayed with cooking spray. Bake 6 minutes then flip and bake another 3-4 minutes until done. Let them cool.  Once cooled melt the chocolate in microwave on low, be careful not to burn and drizzle on top.  Sprinkle sea salt to make them over the top. Now, quickly! Grab one before they disappear!!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Reeses Inspired Bacon Wrapped Dates

  1. Erik March 6, 2012 at 6:06 pm Reply

    Now thats what im talking about………..bacon!!!!

Leave a Reply

