Healthy Carrot Cake Shake with Raisin Walnut Crumble

Ok.  So I have been craving this for awhileee now and I finally caved.  I don’t know why all of the sudden I am into all things carrot cake related because I never liked carrot cake before 6 months ago, but now I am constantly thinking of how to reinvent the classic.  Although this has been done several times before I wanted to try out my own recipe.  This came after a run outside and technically I was eating a vegetable so that makes it healthy 😉

Plus I got to try out my new milkshake glass from Fish n Eddy’s- super awesome/overwhelming dish store.  This turned out soooo good and the walnut crumble on top made it of course.  Lately I prefer something a bit crunchy in my shakes and I find it makes me feel more satisfied and not like I only had a drink for a meal.  I also made a flax/carrot 1 minute muffin based from HEAB’s recipe (linked on previous Molten post).

/\

How cute is that? Just looks silly to me with its carrot top crumble 

I did everything the same but I added 1/4 cup pureed carrots.  Then I took about half of it and crumbled it into my shake making a super-carroty-omega milkshake. Adding guar gum helps make it slightly thicker but you could always use some canned coconut milk.  I was just too lazy to open the can 🙂

Ingredients:

1.5 cup milk- I used almond milk

1-2 tsp guar gum, start with less and add as needed

1.5 cup carrots (I like it reallly carroty)

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 ice cubes (or more is preferred)

*optional- for even more sweetness and thickness add a frozen super ripe banana

Directions:

Blend everything and pour in a pretty glass!

Crumble Topping:

1/8 cup walnuts (toasted is best)

1/8 cup carrots

1/8 cup golden raisins/dates

Directions

Puree or chop everything and add to shake. YUM!

-if you want to be super crunchy don’t add carrots and only use walnuts and raisin

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Healthy Carrot Cake Shake with Raisin Walnut Crumble

  1. Brandon March 12, 2012 at 12:27 pm Reply

    I LOVE carrot cake. This sounds like such a good idea! I have all the ingredients and will be doing this this afternoon. Thanks Heather! 🙂

  2. Richa@HobbyandMore March 12, 2012 at 10:31 pm Reply

    I love that crumble.. and the shake indeed sounds like a carrot cake! love the idea of the carrot muffin too. i love 1 minutes fixes!

  3. […] cup carrots (Heather likes it really […]

Leave a Reply

