Super Sneaky Basil Pesto

Pesto is one of those things I hated when I was a kid and I can remember one night in particular when my mom made it and I wouldn’t touch it.  As far as I was concerned anything that green could not be more offensive- there had to be poison in there.  Now I am obsessed and when I see variations of them I have to try them.  I loved the idea of this recipe because I love a thicker pesto and not the runny lube your car type.  Plus then I get to try my new GF multigrain crackers 😉  Oh and this is boyfriend approved although he doesn’t know my dirty little secret- that the base of it is beans hehe-very very sneaky


Isn’t it so pretty and thick and rich looking??  It would definitely be great on GF (or regular if you can) pasta but here I put it on my Failed Foccacia Turned Flatbread.  (For original recipe go here– and I will be redeeming myself eventually!) Yes that’s what happens when I decide not to follow a bread recipe and think I can create some chemical magic- word of advice through my failures, Don’t Deviate from Bread Recipes!!  It doesn’t work, trust me!

Ok back to this dreamy beauty.  Did you know that basil is super high in vitamin A, K, calcium, magnesium and fiber?  Plus with this recipe you are getting a punch of protein and even MORE fiber from the beans.  For my taste I had to add some parmesan cheese because it is all about that salty bite.  Don’t get me wrong I am not a person that craves salty foods (except salty chocolate- heaven) but here it is essential.  That was one food that I did not have any problems with- parmesan cheese.  I literally could have become one of those people that carried it with them in there purse, but I prefer the block kind that you have to grate on the spot and I thought that would get kind of messy…

Ingredients:

1 can cannelini beans

up to 1/4 cup parmesan cheese

2 tbsp nutritional yeast (this stuff is amazing for you!)

1 garlic clove

2-3 cups fresh basil (I really like basil-start with 2 and see how it goes)

1 tbsp good extra virgin olive oil

up to 1 tbsp kosher salt

juice of 1 lemon

water if you want it thinner

Directions:

Pulse garlic clove to chop. Add everything else and puree.  Taste to make sure it has the right balance.  Best refridgerated the day before.  Spread on crackers, wraps or just grab a spoon 😉

*Next time I might sneak some spinach or mixed greens in here as well as some avocado- makes it soo luxurious.

Calories serving 6:

95 kcal

carbs 12g

fat 4g

protein 6g

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Super Sneaky Basil Pesto

  1. Theresa March 21, 2012 at 1:11 pm Reply

    Yum! Timing is everything -going shopping tonight

  2. […] we dive into crunch heaven, just a fun little note for those who saw my Super Sneaky Basil Pesto.  Boyfriend called right after I posted that and said he had no idea he ate this pesto on his […]

  3. Pam Molnar April 2, 2012 at 9:41 pm Reply

    Hi! Just checking in from FoodBuzz. Love this idea of adding beans to the pesto. I will have to give it a try! Feel free to stop by our site and say hello! Pam
    http://wineanddinewithus.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

