Cinnamon Scented Chia, Flax and Sunflower Seed Granola

Before we dive into crunch heaven, just a fun little note for those who saw my Super Sneaky Basil Pesto.  Boyfriend called right after I posted that and said he had no idea he ate this pesto on his pasta last week . SCORE!!- and he is not tough to fool.  I encourage you to try for your own fellow skeptics 😉

Ok so lets talk subtly sweet, crunchy & nutty Granola.

Granola has always been something that I have avoided because it is usually filled with sugar, fat and lots of calories.  Surprising to some who see it has a health food.  So with my recent new love of oats I decided I need to make some- it is about as difficult as turning your oven on and dumping oats onto a pan.  I absolutely love crunchy things, probably to a fault.  Smoothies, yogurt and even fro-yo need something crunchy in them, enter Granola

I  consider myself to be part “Granola Cruncher”  part “Girlie Girl” part I don’t give a $#!T Girl plus a few more.  A wild jumbled mess- like my jar of delicious cinnamon granola.  It was hard not to just eat this by the spoonful (which I only did like 2, 3, 4 times). From the crunch, to the warmth of cinnamon and don’t forget those nutty sunflower seeds, this granola is the perfect topping for just about anything. It is a shame it took me this long to finally make granola, but now I know it is something that my pantry (and my yogurt) can’t live without. Oh and there might be some sprinkled coconut for good measure. But feel free to add some dark chocolate or other favorites into the crunchy party.

Ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats

1-2 tbsp cinnamon

1 tbsp coconut sugar (extremely low on glycemic index)

1 tbsp sugar free maple syrup

2 tbsp flax seed

1 heaping tbsp chia seed (or more)

1/2 cup sunflower seeds- (mine were roasted already)

1 tbsp coconut

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Mix first 6 ingredients.  Lay on tin foiled baking sheet.  Bake for 15-20 minutes turning a few times to make sure it doesn’t burn.  Once it is crisped to your liking add the sunflower seeds if they are already roasted and add coconut.  That’s it!  Top your favorite smoothies, yogurt or desserts with this delcious and easy granola.

*I purposely kept this very low sugar to keep it a healthy snack and something to help  stabilize blood sugar.  Feel free to add brown sugar, dried fruits or other sweetners but then re-evaulate calories.

Calories serving 5 people (1/2 cup per personusually is 1/4 cup!)

222 kcal

25 g carbs

11 g fat

9 g protein

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Cinnamon Scented Chia, Flax and Sunflower Seed Granola

  1. […] Gluten Free Pumpkin Crepes with Cookie Crack Crumble Although spring has technically arrived, my taste buds have taken a ride to the past.  That is, all I can think about lately is pumpkin.  I know, bare with me but I have been wanting to try a pumpkin crepe/pancake recipe for awhile now and since I had an open can in the fridge waiting for a destination I had to go for it.  I like the idea of starting my day with pumpkin because it is soo healthy, low carb and high fiber (how I like to start most breakfasts).  Plus I wanted to have it with my I can’t stop eating you Granola. […]

  2. beti March 30, 2012 at 1:38 am Reply

    great combination of ingredients to create a delicious granola

  3. […] 3 tbsp Sunflower Seed Granola […]

  4. Janice April 1, 2012 at 2:49 pm Reply

    Hi there,

    This is a FANTASTIC recipe – it has a great nutty flavour but doesn’t actually have nuts (allergies in the family). I also love that it’s low sugar and doesn’t use oil. YUMMY and simple – thanks!

    Janice

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions April 1, 2012 at 10:57 pm Reply

      Janie,

      Thank you! Great to hear that your family can enjoy it! Have you tried it on smoothies-amazing!

      Heather

  5. […] there’s some lovely toppings that basically make the drink.  Some molasses coated sunflower seed granola, hemp seeds and spirutein protein powder.  I have never been a fan of protein powder until this […]

Leave a Reply

