Healthy 1 Minute Chocolate & Peanut Butter Banana Bread, Gluten Free

This breakfast has me excited.  Like crazy supercalafrejdalisticexpealadoshus excited.  Why? Because I LOVE banana bread, kind of obsessively.  It is one of the very first things I started making on my own a few years ago and was that first recipe that I remembered on my own.  But the problem came when I got healthier and realized the typical ingredients in it are not that good for you…butter, and sugar, and flour, and then sometimes toasted with other toppings-like butter.  The calories add up quickly.  I have tried a lottttt of recipes for it and although some “lowfat” versions are good, they’re not great. Not like this one. Oh and the best part which the title may have given away, you microwave this puppy in 1 minute. Yes, this is part of my Magic 1 Minute Muffin series to show all of you that you:

1. Can Eat Breakfast,

2. Have Time for Breakfast,

3. Can Have a Sweet Indulgence for Breakfast,

4. Can Have Sweet Indulgence for Breakfast that is Healthy

I don’t know about you, but I can’t give up certain things, and banana bread is one of them.  So is peanut butter and chocolate.  Coincidentally, they all decided to have a party in my coffee mug and let me tell you, they got along really well.  This cake/bread was SO moist and PACKED with yummy nutty & sweet flavor.  And for sure what put it over the edge was the banana icing.  The natural sweetness of an overly ripe banana can work miracles in the kitchen.  I buy extra bananas just so I have some of those extra ugly brown bananas to throw in the freezer or use for occasions as amazing as these.

So without further a due, RUN, don’t walk, and go make this ASAP!  Then thank me for being awesome and coming up with this 😉 just kidding!

Ingredients:

3-4 tbsp peanut flour (if you don’t have finely pulse peanuts {roasted is best} without making peanut butter)

1 super ugly brown/black banana (the uglier the better)

1 egg

1 tsp baking powder

1tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp PB2

2 tsp cocoa powder

2-3 tbsp almond milk or other milk

1 tbsp peanut butter baking chips

Directions:

-Pulse peanuts if you don’t have peanut flour (it is amazing though I recommend buying it).  If you use 3 tbsp you may have to microwave for 1 minute plus 30 seconds unless you want it gooey in the middle.

-Mix peanut flour with baking powder well, don’t want any clumps.  Add egg, vanilla and 1/2  the banana.

-In separate bowl make your PB2 and I mixed with cocoa powder unless you have chocolate PB2.

If you don’t have PB2 at all (um why would you not??) sub 1 tbsp chocolate peanut butter and make this a molten cake by dropping it in the middle.  Just like with original PB Cake

– Swirl the PB2 through the cake.

-Microwave for 1 minute in coffee mug and check to make sure the middle is cooked.  You may need to add 30 seconds because the banana adds a lot of moisture.

To make icing stir or blend the other half of banana with almond milk to create desired consistency.  Top the cake with icing and peanut butter baking chips.

So now I am sure you are thinking all of this decadence must come with a price? Well the answer is yes you will make your friends and co-workers very jealous when you come into work and only have 1 piece of DELICIOUS banana bread for yourself.  This is seriously one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever made and it’s pretty much dessert.  A super healthy, “I feel like I’m cheating” dessert.  So basically you are a fool if you don’t try this.  Yes I said it, now try and prove me wrong 😉

Calories for entire recipe (Toppings too!!)

404kcal

42g carbs

15g fat

31g protein (whoa!)

6g refined sugar (from chips)

*You could make this healthier by subbing egg-white and sweetening up PB2 with stevia instead of using chips, but I haven’t tried it so I can’t vouch for it.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Healthy 1 Minute Chocolate & Peanut Butter Banana Bread, Gluten Free

  1. Tina@flourtrader March 27, 2012 at 10:11 am Reply

    I have recently found out how wonderful peanut flour can be! I am not gluten intolerant, but I love to experiment with different flours. Glad I found another recipe that uses this flour and it does look like a winnner. Thanks for sharing this one and have a great day!

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions March 27, 2012 at 10:59 am Reply

      Glad you like it! I am LOVING peanut flour. I used it this morning to make a super quick satay sauce for BF’s wrap. You just mix it with water like making PB2 and it’s peanut butter! So convenient!

  2. Shannon Lim (@JustAsDelish) March 31, 2012 at 6:26 am Reply

    whoa! this sure is a super fast healthy recipe. I don’t use microwave, so will try it in the oven. or maybe steaming it. I am learning many new products & ingredients from you like pb2 & pb baking chips! very intriguing indeed 🙂

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions March 31, 2012 at 7:55 am Reply

      ahh yes I am pb obsessed!! and just so you know, peanut flour will also make peanut butter which I have recently discovered and might be a better buy as well as it doesn’t have the added sugar and salt! I am sure you could pop this in a ramekin and into the oven but def keep an eye on it. Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

