Peanut Butter Crunch Remix

So I have been sucked into the Chia Seed wave and I must say I am totally obsessed!  It has become a new favorite breakfast that involves no work (love that) and I love how it gives my foods some texture and thickness.  Plus who knew that a little seed could pack so many nutrients!  Lots of omega’s, calcium, fiber and antioxidants!   So of course it was only a matter of time before I would be trying Chia seeds in some kind of peanut butter concoction.

 When I was younger I went through a period of time when I only ate cereal.  Literally for breakfast, lunch, dinner and many times as a late night snack it was my favorite thing (I realize why now- sugar & carb fix!)  One of  my absolute favorites cereal was Peanut Butter Captain Crunch and saying that I was totally addicted is an understatement.  I would usually have two bowls which probably put me into sugar overload and it has been years now since I have had it.  I am definitely ok with that and I do not miss the sugar coating it would leave on the inside of my teeth.

Fortunately my peanut butter obsession has only grown with time and right now I have fallen in love with PB2 and Peanut Flour.  So the other night I wanted to make myself a movie smoothie/snack and I came up with this.  It actually ended up being more “meal like” so I saved it for the morning and I am so glad I did.  This turned out to be a bowl and peanuty, chocolately, crunch heaven and completely felt like dessert.  Yet I didn’t need to add any sugar which I love.  This is so easy to prepare and you could totally put it in a mason jar and bring it with you to work for breakfast.  It is super high in protein, fiber and healthy fats, yay!  The perfect breakfast indeed 🙂

Oh and check out my Vanilla Kit Bottle.  Who knew it was that easy to make vanilla extract, thanks Homegoods!

Aren’t these bowls so pretty?  They make me think of Tiffany’s because of the color and it looks like a pearl necklace around the rim- love it

Ingredients:

2 tbsp Chia Seeds

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup unsweetened hemp milk

2 tbsp PB2

2 tbsp protein plus peanut flour

1 heaping tbsp cocoa powder

3 tbsp Sunflower Seed Granola

1 tbsp hemp seeds

Directions:

The night before you plan to eat this, or at least 2 hour prior mix mix the first 6 ingredients well and leave in a bowl or mason jar.  (if you want chia pudding than use half the amount of milk.

Pour into bowl and top with Sunflower Seed Granola and Hemp seeds to give it some crunch 

This is like Chocolate Peanut Butter Milk with crunch cereal topping-aka amazing

Calories 437

38g carbs

24g fat

28g protein

10g fiber

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Crunch Remix

  1. elle April 5, 2012 at 12:23 am Reply

    haha I keep finding my way back to your blog today! I really want to try this for breakfast tmrw 😀

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions April 5, 2012 at 8:57 am Reply

      omgosh you have to- its so addictingly good!! (another add in I forgot is sugar free choc syrup– amazing!!

Leave a Reply

