Quick and Easy Asian Salmon Cakes & Sweet Potato Stacks

Canned Salmon.  Not a very enticing ingredient.  Canned wild sockeye salmon?  Boneless and skinless? Ok, maybe we’re on to something.  But now what?  That’s how I felt after buying a can of good quality sockeye salmon, totally clueless and not wanting to put a lot of effort into date nights dinner.

So after googling some salmon cake/burger recipes I decided to just stick with my favorite Asian flavors and keep it simple.  I love recipes that I can literally stir together in a bowl and throw in a frying pan.  They are practically fool proof.  The only thing that needs perfecting here is getting the right consistency.  I used some blended gluten free tapioca bread to help bind the cakes, but next time I might use some oat flour or something with a bit more thickness.

And as for those delightful sweet potato stacks?  Thanks to my mandolin they took about 5 minutes to prepare and get into the oven.  Yeah, I love things that are that easy.  I have been thinking I wanted to do some kind of sweet potato, beet goat cheese stack, which may be coming in the future- {you can’t rush these things ;)} But I followed the recipe from here, except I forgot my muffin pan was a mini so I just stacked them on a sheet pan which worked out fine (spray the pan! I always forget!)

Oh and my favorite salmon topping of course, goat cheese and avocado spread.  Simple, easy and delicious on everything!  I also made some minted mango chutney for an added bit of flavor but I ended up just eating it after like a healthy sweet treat 🙂

Ironically, date night photos are always lack-luster because the BF can’t wait for me to have a photo shoot but don’t let that keep you from trying this recipe.  It is so easy and so yummy, I got the dance- so you know it’s man approved too 🙂

Ingredients:

1 can wild sockeye salmon (boned and skinned will make your life a lot easier)

3 tbsp sesame oil

2 tbsp gluten free soy sauce

2 tsp fresh grated ginger

1 garlic clove minced

3 scallions chopped, (green part only)

1 slice gluten free bread for binding

juice of 1 lemon

s&p

Directions

Mix everything really well in a large bowl.  I did this the day before so the flavors can mingle.  When ready make into 2 large or 4 small cakes and pan fry about 5 minutes on each side till they get nice and crusty.  Top with spread and serve on gluten free buns, fresh lettuce or solo!

Sweet Potato Stacks

Use a mandalin to slice 2 sweet potatoes.

Throw in a bag with 2 tbsp sesame oil, 1 tbsp fresh ginger, 1 garlic clove minced fine, few dashes gf soy sauce and half fresh squeezed orange juice.   Shake really well to coat and stack on a baking sheet or use a muffin pan.  Bake for 30-40 minutes on 350 till they are tender.

Goat Cheese & Avocado Spread

Mix 2 oz goat cheese with 2-3oz avocado.  Add juice of half a lemon, and season to taste.

Minty Mango Salsa

Chop 1 ripe mango and mince 1-2 tsp fresh ginger.  Combine in a bowl with 2-3 sprigs fresh mint.  Let it sit in the fridge for at least 2 hours.

This recipe may seem long but it is so easy, healthy and affordable!  The cakes turned out perfectly moist and the sweet potato stacks were a match made in heaven!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

