Overnight Green Monster Chia Pudding

So I know this isn’t the prettiest of breakfast, but it is still really good.  And requires no work-well some blending but that’s about it.  It’s my new favorite vitamin and nutrient packed breakfast all thanks to the lovely chia seeds.  Lately my favorite smoothies have been big green minty ones, so I wanted to make it into a chia pudding.  Between the spinach and the chia seeds you are getting a punch of calcium which is essential for just about everything in the body.  And since it’s green you know I am going to put some avocado and matcha green tea powder in there.  (Just keep in mind it won’t keep it green if you choose something with a lot of color)

You could put some chocolate chips in there and make it mint choc chip, but I just love the nuttiness of walnuts.

Ingredients:

2 cups fresh spinach/mix greens

2-3 tbsp avocado

1 tsp matcha green tea powder

1 tsp mint extract plus few tbsp fresh mint

1 banana

1 cup almond milk

1.5-2 tbsp chia seeds

walnuts for topping 🙂

Directions: To be prepared at least 2 hours before you eat it.

Blend everything but the chia seeds.  Then mix them in by hand.  I like to put the whole thing in a small jar to chill out overnight in the fridge.I love waking in the morning and not having to think of what to have for breakfast.  Just put it in your favorite bowl, garnish with toppings and devour!  Minty Chia Madness!!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Overnight Green Monster Chia Pudding

  1. elle April 5, 2012 at 9:23 am Reply

    :O green monster pudding! what an awesome, awesome idea

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions April 5, 2012 at 9:58 am Reply

      Thanks elle! P.S. your chia egg thing is very interesting!

      • elle April 5, 2012 at 10:46 am

        aw thanks! I’m loving the chia flour, it’s really useful in just about anything (:

  2. greenplaterule April 5, 2012 at 3:56 pm Reply

    Me and chia puddings, are like “THIS”. I can’t wait to try this one!! 🙂

  3. Aunt Melissa April 6, 2012 at 9:31 am Reply

    Beautifully photographed, kiddo! Chia seeds are a nutrient powerhouse. I got bored putting them in my shakes, but I will try this one soon.

  4. Kelly @ Free Spirit Food April 9, 2012 at 9:49 am Reply

    Yum! I agree, this is an awesome idea!

Leave a Reply

