Marinated Beet Carpaccio with Goat Cheese Tahini Dressing

So I don’t know about you, but I love beets.  I go through phases were I buy them obsessively and eat them everyday.  Maybe that’s because I don’t have any past experiences of being forced to eat them as a kid.  And thank goodness my mom was not a “canned” or “boxed” type person because I hear they are horrible from the can. {As I feel most things are-except pumpkin}  I especially love beet salads and all of the classic flavors of them.  Walnuts and goat cheese are a beets best friend if you were to ask me.  The problem here is these are high calorie items and although it feels light, it’s rather sneaky.

This is what inspired me to make a “Skinny Beet Salad” and I must say that I like it just as much- if not better.  You get all the flavors you are looking for and the best part is without a doubt the dressing.  Typically when I make a beet salad I am really just searching through the leaves of spinach for a piece of walnut or goat cheese to make every bite perfection.  Here you don’t have to do that because the dressing does the dirty work for you by coating every bit.  Plus the quick marinade helps balance out the sweetness of the dressing with the tang of balsamic vinegar.  Simply and just lovely 🙂

Ingredients:

1 beet, peeled and sliced thinly with mandolin (if you don’t have one, get one they are amazing!)

2 tsp goat cheese

3-4 walnuts

few leaves spring mix

1 tbsp tahini

2 tbsp water, or almond milk for sweeter dressing

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 tsp honey

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

few skinny slices of apple for garnish

1 tbsp diced dried cranberries for garnish

Marinade:

Combine balsamic vinegar and dash of honey for 5 mins.  I plopped the apples in there too.

Directions:

Make the dressing by combining goat cheese, tahini, honey, and apple cider vinegar.

Assemble

Lay your spring leaves, then beets fanned on top and sprinkle the rest of the goodies.  Drizzle your dressing around the beets so they are nice and coated.  This makes me feel as springy inside 🙂

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Marinated Beet Carpaccio with Goat Cheese Tahini Dressing

  1. Aunt Melissa April 7, 2012 at 5:59 pm Reply

    I don’t have a problem with canned beets-probably because I grew up on them. My Mom fed us jarred pickled beets. That’s how I first met beets. She made Beets Borscht too. But I enjoyed the color, and stayed away from tasting it. Now I buy fresh beets and make my own Borscht. This salad looks great. I want to try the tahini in the dressing. Healthy stuff-tahini. Full of calcium.

  2. Tara Noland April 14, 2012 at 5:28 pm Reply

    I love beets, these look really good!!

Leave a Reply

