Amazing Accidental Skinny Guacamole

So yesterday I wanted to play with this hemp, mint and cilantro pesto recipe I had made a few days ago.  I liked it but I just forgot where I was going with it. (recipe ADHD)  So I then became inspired by a few sauces I have been checking out in Blissful Bites (love it!!) amazing vegan cookbook.

Then something magical happened.  I made a super healthy “I feel like I’m cheating” Guacamole- on accident.

It started out with me trying to make a pseudo green goddess dressing and I threw 1 whole zucchini in the vita-mix instead of lathering it in oil.  I saw that the author Christy Morgan made a dressing using cucumber instead of oil and I loved the idea.  The only problem with me is they sometimes bother my stomach so I always use zucchini instead.  I blended it with the pesto I made and it was coming out too dry and chunky.  I needed something to smooth it out.  DING avocado!!

So I popped around 1/4 cup avocado (what I had left over) into the blender, tasted it and then I realized,

I made really healthy guacamole!!!  And it taste really freaking good!!

Now since I used the minty cilantro hemp pesto it had a bit of a spin on the traditional but it was amazing!  I added a bit more lime and a bunch of chives to give it an onion-y bite without the chunks of onion- perfection.

And guess what? If you want to eat the entire cup serving it makes, you can- and not feel guilty about it. You could even make 2 cups and still not feel guilty about it.  Instead you can feel really good because not only is it low in calories but it’s high in vitamins like C & A as well as high in minerals like Calcium, Magnesium and fiber!  Not to mention the herbs pack a punch of nutrients and of course those lovely little hemp seeds!  I am so excited about this recipe and it is a for sure item for my Skinny Cocktail Party I’m planning to have in the future. 🙂

Ingredients:

1 medium zucchini, washed with skins left on

1/4 cup avocado

1 tbsp hemp seeds

3 tbsp fresh mint

3 tbsp fresh chives

1/4 cup cilantro

juice of 1 lime

Directions:

Place everything but zucchini and avocado into food processor.  Once well mixed add chopped zucchini (just to make blending easier) and avocado.  Taste to check seasoning.  Refridgerate until ready to eat 🙂

Calories in entire recipe using 1 zucchini around 180, (2 zucchini add around 45 calories)

15g carbs

12g fat (omit hemp seeds to cut in 1/2)

6g protein

7g fiber

OR

15 calories per 2 tbsp!!!

If you want to make this taste more like traditional guacamole:

-Omit the mint and add handful of grape tomatoes, 1/4 cup onion, and a sprinkle of garlic powder.  But I really encourage you to try this it is amazing.

I wanted to have some seaweed so I put in a nori roll with cauliflower rice, some crumbled brown rice chips for crunch, and shaved carrot.  I need a bamboo roller but I’m too lazy and impatient, ah someday.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Amazing Accidental Skinny Guacamole

  1. greenplaterule April 11, 2012 at 4:46 pm Reply

    Guacamole is one of my FAVORITE snacks!! I will be trying this for sure!

  2. eatinglocalinthelou April 12, 2012 at 8:31 pm Reply

    Love this post and your infused humor- such a fun read. And making recipes with hemp? I’m up for the challenge!

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions April 12, 2012 at 8:37 pm Reply

      thx! and hemp is my new favorite thing. hemp milk, hemp seeds for crunch on smoothies…anywhere and everywhere!

  3. OishiiTreats April 15, 2012 at 3:22 am Reply

    Avocado with zucchini sounds like it would be great together, I always love it when something thats made by accident comes out fantastic. I will have to try this 🙂

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions April 18, 2012 at 9:35 pm Reply

      I have been playing with these two for awhile now and I love them together! Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

