Super Smooth White Bean Hummus, 2 Ways

Hummus is one of those things that I go through stages of obsession and then I forget about it for a few months.  Well right now it has become an obsession and after trying a white bean version I might not go back to chickpeas, (well for a little while.)  It becomes so smooth and almost has a richer flavor.  You must try if you have not had a white bean version.

I was inspired to make my own because whenever I am grocery shopping I stop to look at the flavors to see if there is anything I feel worth buying.  That is until I reach in to grab one and then I see how overpriced it is.  Considering you can buy all the ingredients for dirt cheap there really is no excuse not to.  Plus this requires no cooking, aka-  It really doesn’t get any easier.

Even if you are not a bean fan, hummus can be your turning point.

I have found the secret to really good hummus is adding cooked ingredients (sorry raw garlic).  Here I have done two different versions, one which is fairly classic and the other with some Indian flare.  They are both SO delicious and they will make eating veggies way more interesting.  Your friends and family will think you bought these 😉

Lately I have been enjoying hummus on wraps with slices of avocado, cauliflower rice, & mixed greens.  A spicy dipping sauce never hurts either.

Ingredients:

1 can white beans, drained and rinsed

1 head garlic, top sliced off

1 onion of choice- I used white

1/4 cup tahini

1 lemon

*optional, fresh chives

1/2 cup eggplant (1/4 of a whole)

1/2-1 tbsp garam masala

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line baking sheet with tin foil and wrap the garlic head, onion and eggplant in separate foil leaving an opening for air to release at the top.  Roast for 15-20 minutes till slightly brown.

Allow to cool and place the beans, lemon juice, garlic, onion & tahini in the food processor/blender and whip until very smooth.  I love fresh herbs and added a little chives.   This is version 1. (Traditionally cumin is added but I didn’t want any.)

Roasted Eggplant Hummus: {on the left}

-Take 1/2 of version one and add your roasted eggplant (I left skin on for extra vitamins and minerals.  Add garam masala and blend.  It’s that easy.  Season both to taste with salt and pepper.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

