Spiralized Sweet Potato with Spicy Satay Sauce

Thanks for not leaving me.  I know its been awhile.  Don’t worry I haven’t stopped eating or cooking.  I’ve just been busy and there are lots of changes going on.  But the deliciousness is not changing, it is hopefully only getting better

😉

For one reason or another, sweet potatoes have been calling my name lately.  I just want to eat them in every possible way.  The one downside to preparing sweet potatoes or potatoes in general is they can take awhile to cook.  That is a big reason why I don’t have them often.  That is until I bought a vegetable spiralizer aka my new favorite toy.  Actually I got it with Amex points (love that) and it was so worth it.  I was able to spin this lovely sweet potato in under a minute and then throw it into a saute pan with some lovely satay.  Good thing too because I had just spent roughly 5 hours in the car and I was in no mood to make anything.  It’s times like these when I just want to make a yummy green monster (my fav recipe is soon to come) instead of cooking for myself.  But then I tempted myself by picking up some lovely orange friends and the thought of peanut butter-{actually pb2 shh it’s my secret} paired with it is one of my favorite combos.  They are like secret best friends or something I swear.

To add a little something I threw in some frozen edamame.  The actual satay sauce took a whopping 30 seconds maybe?  I stirred some pb2 with tamari, sugar free maple syrup, and rice vinegar.  Yeah this is really complicated stuff.  This was sooo good and comforting.  This is like the thai version of mac and cheese.  Oh but it is gluten free.  Oh and its a much healthier version.  And the sweet potato actually feels like your eating pasta?!?  Your taste buds won’t know the difference, they will just be really happy once you feed them this.  Now go spend maybe 10 minutes and make this!

Ingredients: Serves 1

1/2 sweet potato spiralized (if you don’t have one just use a vegetable peeler, but you probably won’t get the same result)

1/2 small sweet onion chopped

2 garlic cloves minced

1 tbsp sesame oil

2 tsp fresh ginger, or 1 tsp dried

1 carrot spiralized

1/4-1/2 cup shelled edamame, thawed

Satay Sauce:

Mix 2-3 tbsp pb2 or peanut flour with 1 tbsp tamari, 1 tbsp rice vinegar, 1 tbsp sugar free maple syrup (use agave for vegan) and 3 tbsp spicy red chili sauce (I use homemade).  Add enough water to thin it out.  Keep nearby.

Directions:

Saute onions for 2 minutes in non-stick pan with cooking spray.  Add garlic and ginger.  Add sweet potato and carrot.  Stir to combine.  Add sesame oil and coat the noodles.  Add satay sauce and cook the noodles until you like the texture.  For me it was about 5-7 minutes which produced an el dente “pasta”.  Some fresh cracked black pepper on top was perfect.

Calories are around 500 for entire recipe calculated with 3 tbsp pb2 and 1/2 cup edamame.

Health Benefits of Sweet Potatoes:

-Sweet potatoes are super high in beta carotene which needs fat to be absorbed.

-Improve blood sugar regulation

-High in fiber

-Low in calories

-High in vitamin B6 and manganese

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Spiralized Sweet Potato with Spicy Satay Sauce

  1. Aunt Melissa April 26, 2012 at 2:25 pm Reply

    I also am bothered by the long cooking time of spuds. Should I try peeling my sweets on an apple peeler/corer that I have?

  2. Kylie July 16, 2012 at 10:20 pm Reply

    Spiralized sweet potatoes!? I love that! I really need to get a spiralizer…I think they make everything more fun:) [‘everything’ being vegetable eating]

    • heatherscreativeconcoctions July 17, 2012 at 8:20 am Reply

      They really do and they are so cheap! Plus it makes cooking them like 5 minutes of sautéing vs at least 30 minutes baking in the oven!

Leave a Reply

