Spiralized Zucchini, Green Curry Lentil Meatballs & Amazing Cilantro Coconut Sauce

This might have been my favorite date night dinner yet.

Oh except I forgot that my lover had a HUGE fundraiser that he put together going on-so my dinner that I had been planning for literally over a week, was now date night for one.  So I almost didn’t make it.  Except I had already made the sauce so I just needed to make the meatballs.  I decided to just commit and finish what I started- and I am so glad that I did.

This sauce is AMAZING! I wanted to just keep spooning it and scrap the whole thing.  Oh I know what you are thinking- it is spoonable like that because it is made from canned coconut milk and I had refridgerated it.  Once microwaved for 30 seconds, it turns into this beautiful addicting sauce.

I have a bit of sad news though.  I can’t give you the recipe because it is not mine.  It is from Blissful Bites aka my new favorite resource.  Seriously, amazing.  If you are pondering some vegan and even raw food recipes-get it asap.  Basically, when I first made this I wanted to just eat it as soup.  But knowing that drinking a whole can of coconut milk probably isn’t a good idea, I refrained.  Phew 😉 

The good news is I can give you the recipe to my lentil meatballs.  Which are super easy to make.  This was actually my first time preparing lentils which is a shame because they are really good for you and really easy to make.  Surprisingly, these meatballs actually had a “meat” flavor which I wasn’t even trying to do.  It went perfectly with the zucchini and I sort of crushed them up to make a bolognese type result.  There is also a secret ingredient.  It is ricotta cheese.  Except it’s not.  This dish is completely vegan.  Yeah that’s because I made tofu ricotta.  Although I am not a vegan I prefer to not have lactose because it makes me feel like crap.  So I didn’t want to ruin these babies with some whole milk ricotta like all the lentil meatball recipes I found called for.  Plus now these are a complete protein “meatball”.  Score!

So I could just keep talking about how much I loved this recipe, but I’ll just leave it with you and if you try let me know what you think.  I thought it was pretty kick ass if I say so myself. 🙂

Ingredients:

1 cup cooked lentils

1/2 package firm tofu drained

1/2 lemon

1 tsp garam masala

*optional, rolled oats

1/4-1/2 cup green curry paste (I used homemade-very easy to make)

2 tbsp nutritional yeast

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375

Prepare lentils according to package. Once they are cooked and cooled (or if you are impatient like me run cold water over them in a strainer.) throw in a blender with tsp garam masala. Get a lite chop going so the lentils break up a bit but not get mushy.

In a separate bowl take drained tofu and add juice from 1/2 lemon, nutritional yeast and few tbsp of fresh cilantro.  Mix everything together to get a “crumbly” ricotta texture.

Throw ricotta into blender with lentils and blender enough to bring everything together. If you want a more crumbly texture add some oats.

Put mixture in a bowl and mix in green curry paste.  Form around 20 meatballs and place on tin foil lined baking sheet.  Bake for 15 minutes, flip and bake another 5-10 minutes until you get desired texture.  Browning them a bit on both sides helps to give it a “meat” taste.

Use a spiralizer for zucchini, (I used 1/2 of a large) microwave a heaping spoon or two 😉 of the sauce and top with a few meatballs.

Put on your favorite movie, pair of fuzzy socks and enjoy your bowl of healthy bliss!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Spiralized Zucchini, Green Curry Lentil Meatballs & Amazing Cilantro Coconut Sauce

  1. floptimism April 26, 2012 at 8:51 pm Reply

    These look so good! How do you make curry paste? I always see it in recipes but never have any on hand.

  2. oliviamayh April 11, 2013 at 1:35 pm Reply

    Oh my goodness this looks absolutely divine!

Leave a Reply

