Spicy Cubanelle Cucumber Gazpacho

20120621-185853.jpg

So I know this isn’t the prettiest of Gazpachos but it’s SO delicious and refreshing- especially with the crazy hot weather happening. The best part about Gazpachos is they are super easy to make, naturally very healthy and still fill you up! I decided to put this together because I was craving some fresh in season veggies like tomatoes and cucumbers and with the weather leaving me feeling very dehydrated it seemed like the perfect meal! I added some diced watermelon for even more hydration and to balance the spiciness.

The end result was perfect and turned out better than I expected. I’m wondering why I haven’t done this before but now it will definitely become a staple for the rest of summer. This recipe is jam packed with vitamins, minerals, fiber, and flavor! And for those that are like me and need a bit of crunch, throw in some sprouts and crackers (I love these raw ones :))

Ingredients: feel free to swap your favorites
1/2 cup grape tomatoes
1 cucumber
1/2 cup watermelon or omit and just add water to thin as needed
1 garlic clove (you might want to try half and work up-I love garlic)
1/8 cup diced onion
1 celery stick
1/8 cup cubanelle pepper (de-seeded)
2 tbsp chopped cilantro
1 scallion, green part
Juice if 1 lime
Lots of fresh cracked pepper
(I also snuck in some matcha green tea powder :))

Directions:
Blend it, taste it, season and eat up! Or is it drink?

Garnish ideas:
1/4 cup diced watermelon
1/4 cup sprouts
Few raw chips
Salsa

For sure crunch add some finely minced

Ok time for a random question. I am considering buying a food dehydrator so I can make my own chips, wraps (gluten free wraps don’t come easy!) and all the other fun goodies possible. So to those of you who have one, how do you like it and is there anything specific I need to look for? Any suggestions would be awesome!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

