Butternut Squash, Broccoli & Shiitake Stir Fry

20120627-194321.jpg

Sometimes I find myself just craving the most random things. Today it happened to be broccoli. I know weird right? I wanted to dump the whole frozen bag to be defrosted but I refrained to only about 1/2 ;). I think these odd cravings are maybe the body’s way of saying I need these nutrients. Although when my body says banana, peanut butter and chocolate what is it looking for…hmm

Some other finds I had in my fridge was some pre-chopped butternut squash from Trader Joes. I never buy fruits or vegetables that aren’t in the whole form but for the price of around 2$ for 1lb. and the grunt work is done for me (cutting butternut squash is meant for iron men) why not? So I roasted it all yesterday which was so convenient and put it back in the fridge for times like this. I’ve been implementing some more carbs into my diet because I think my energy has been low and I don’t often eat grains because I never feel like cooking them. (I know silly right?) I have also been looking at my diet and thought my iron is most likely low due to eating mostly plant foods and not eating “smart” but I plan to do a post soon so check it out for some energy boosting tips!

Another TJ’s find I had was shiitake mushrooms. This actually led me to researching them because I don’t know much about them and since they’re asian mushrooms I knew they most likely had some great health benefits. Did you know there has been extensive research on them proving to have benefits towards your heart, lowering your cancer risk and improving your immune system? Plus they’re high in B vitamins, fiber, zinc, copper…not a bad gig for a delicious low calorie food huh?

So to continue the asian love I flavored with some classic ginger, garlic, tamari and sesame oil. Some sweet chili sauce, flakes and sesame seeds made it perfect! So satisfying and comforting without weighing you down, in only 15 minutes!

Ingredients:
5 shiitake mushrooms, sliced
1 cup cooked butternut squash
1/4 cup sweet onion
up to 1 tbsp sesame oil
1 tbsp tamari
1 tbsp rice vinegar
1 cup broccoli (or more 🙂 ) I always use frozen
1-2 garlic cloves
1-2 tsp fresh ginger root grated
1 carrot peeled like linguine
2 scallions sliced thin, green parts

Directions:
-Heat sesame oil over medium-high heat. Add onion and broccoli and sauce 3 minutes. Add mushrooms, tamari and rice vinegar and saute 2 minutes. Add garlic and ginger and saute for 2 minutes (don’t walk away, you don’t want garlic to burn). Add carrot and butternut squash so everything is hot and mingling. Take off heat and stir in scallions and top with sweet chili sauce and sesame seeds.

20120627-200756.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

