Vegan Spaghetti Squash “Hamburger Helper” tossed in Avocado Mac and Crispy Chickpea Nuggets

Seriously Yum and seriously comforting. I created a new word to help best describe this dish- “carb-tastic” I am not really sure exactly how I got to putting this meal together but I am really happy with what I ended up with. The bonus is that it is pretty much as easy to put together as that funky boxed stuff.

Oh and whats that your asking? Crispy chickpea nuggets?? Yeah I know I’m really excited about it too. It is all thanks to VeganMommy with her chickpea tofu that I am so happy to have found! And it is SO easy to make and cheap!

20120724-102617.jpg Since me and soy are not friends so its a bit of a bummer that I can’t enjoy tofu especially since I actually like it. Not that I think all vegetarians or vegans need to eat it to be healthy at all but there are so many cool things you can make with it like dips, scrambles, desserts… which have been off limits to me until now. I am thinking up a lot of cool ways to try this out but I really just wanted to crisp it up for this dish to mix up the textures.

20120724-092449.jpg

For the “hamburger” part I used my go to millet-mushroom combo and just crumbled it all over. It’s my favorite ground meat substitute and obviously much healthier. Although this is very comforting it is packed with vegetables, vitamins, minerals, fiber and protein. I don’t think it gets much better than that.

Oh and what do you think of my DIY food board?

20120724-103654.jpg I’m taking baby steps to upping my photography because I know I am not interested in making dishes I see unless it comes with a great picture. I have been wanting to do this for awhile because it is so easy and really makes a difference in how your photos look. I just love turquoise and now I want to paint everything in this color 😉 I am trying to think of a good color to paint the other side to really utilize it the best I can. I would love a bright yellow but I’m not sure how that would contrast with a lot of food, any thoughts?

Look how much the yogurt parfait pops against the blue background

20120724-104819.jpg I still have a long way to go, but it makes taking pictures with my iPhone more fun, hehe 🙂

For the rest of the dish I used an archived favorite, Avocado Mac & Cheese but I added some scallions, chives and roasted garlic (obsessed). I nixed the goat cheese and used lots of herbs de provence, love that stuff

This recipe comes together really fast ones the spaghetti squash is finished roasting. A recommendation for those somewhat intimidated vegetables like the winter squashes, beets, root vegetables… that seem to require a lot of time are really made so much easier if you roast them soon after buying and then just throw them into the fridge so they are ready whenever.

Ingredients:
-Prepare the chickpea tofu unless you can have regular. (If you are like me and not a huge fan of chickpea flour this is not the same and I don’t find it to have that overpowering taste)

-1/2 small spaghetti squash
-1/2 shallot minced
-3 garlic cloves
-handful of grape tomatoes
-handful of zucchini chopped
-1/4 cup tofu chopped

Directions:
-Preheat oven to 375 and roast the spaghetti squash for at least 30 minutes until it pulls apart easily with a fork.
-Wrap the garlic cloves in tin foil and place on baking sheet to steam and sweeten them. Also throw chopped tofu on with light cooking spray and season to taste.
-While that is in the oven sauté the shallots, grape tomatoes and zucchini for 5-7 minutes till cooked.
-Grab your magic bullet or food processor and blend your Avocado Mac (recipe above)
-Once the squash is done and cooled enough to handle, scoop out the inside with a fork. Blend your steamed garlic with avocado mac and mix with spaghetti squash to coat. Stir the sautéed vegetables and go to your happy guilt-free carb place 🙂

20120724-110135.jpg
Crispy, crunchy, creamy, meaty, savory, deliciousness!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

