Creamy Corn & Bacon Dip

So it is officially the last weekend of summer for me before all the craziness of school, commuting and all other grown up things begin. I will miss watching a ridiculous amount of daytime television, browsing hundreds of food blogs for hours, and testing out all kinds of elaborate recipes I will no longer have the time to invest in. Simultaneously I am really looking forward to getting back into a routine and actually having a bit more responsibility than figuring out how to DVR my favorite shows to avoid any commercial watching at all. But before all of this happens I need to savor the last bit of summer with a sweet, salty, smokey and undeniably savory dip that I would normally not indulge in.

Enter the Creamy Corn and Bacon Dip

20120825-103634.jpg

I was actually thinking of calling this dip, “Foolproof Way to Hook New Friends” because the bf and I were invited to dinner at our new couple friends house and I of course had to bring something. We have been hanging out fairly frequently and its been great to have made new friends since moving to a new apartment. But I wanted to make sure they really liked us 😉 and what better way to bribe friendship than with food? And when I say food I really mean bacon. I mean come on, who doesn’t like bacon? Even myself although I do eat a lot of vegetarian and vegan meals cannot deny that lingering smokey smell, uniquely crunchy and chewy texture and heavenly salty bite. So when I spotted the original recipe for this in my giant cookbook I knew it was a sure thing. But the recipe seemed rather uninspiring to me as it only called for boiling the corn and throwing it together with ick- cream cheese? I mean I know this is a staple in many easy dips but the sounds of tasting cream cheese with corn and bacon just wasn’t floating my boat. And especially if I am going to have fresh corn there is no question that it is going to be met with butter in a sauté pan- there really is no other way to have it.

20120825-104846.jpg
Plus I wanted to make sure this dip would be something that if I was so inclined to eat a seriously large portion I wouldn’t have the consequences of dairy to deal with. So I thought of what I could sub the cream cheese with that would not be too heavy, economical and have a chameleon like quality about it. Aha! The secret ingredient immediately came to me! And having the satisfaction of watching the bf inhaling this without knowing he is eating _ _ _ _ while I attempt to hide my cheshire cat grin totally confirmed that I indeed would be using this. And let me tell you, even after I told them what they were eating, it didn’t stop them from continuing to scrape the container after dinner. Victorious!

So if you are looking to make new friends or you just want to be the coolest person at a party, do yourself a favor and make this dip.

Ingredients:
3 ears corn
1 shallot, minced
2 garlic cloves, minced
2-3 tbsp real mayo
8 slices favorite bacon
3 tbsp butter
2 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp chopped fresh chives and bacon bits for garnish

Secret Ingredient:
1/2 package firm tofu, drained

Directions:
-Take out half package of tofu (6-8oz) and drain with paper towel. Squeeze to get as much moisture out as possible.

-Preheat oven to 400 degrees and cook bacon on tinfoil lined baking sheet for about 15 minutes or when it is just starting to crisp up.

-Meanwhile, using a large enough sauté pan on medium heat, add 2 tbsp butter and 2 tbsp olive oil to the pan. Cut your corn off the cob and add to pan. Season generously with good sea salt and pepper.
-Sauté for roughly 3 minutes and then add shallot and garlic and last tbsp of butter and olive oil. You want to caramelize the corn which should take a total of 10-15 minutes of sautéing. Once cooked set aside and bacon should be done around the same time.
-Once they are both cool enough to handle, add your corn to a food processor or blender along with the mayo and blend until creamy. It will still have some texture.
-Next add the tofu (crumble a bit to make it easier for the food processor) and blend until it is mixed throughout.
-Add the slices of bacon which you can either slice or break into pieces with your hand. I chopped it into small bits. Pulse a few times to incorporate the bacon throughout.
-Taste and season according to your taste, I added around 1/2 tsp himalayan salt and few good grinds of black pepper.
-Place in microwave safe to-go container (so you can heat it up at party-better that way) and top with chives and bacon bits.

-Make sure you dress cute and pop a breath mint because you are about to be the life of the party 😉

20120825-111456.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

