Maple Pumpkin Granola, Gf Sugar-Free

I just love catching the first few signs of fall. The chilly nights, leaves starting to change and my favorite comfort foods popping up at farmers markets. Enter pumpkins, apples, squash and why not some fellow regulars like kale and broccoli. But we’re not hear today to talk about anything green. Today it’s all about crunchy, nutty, good for you granola with lots of pumpkin.

20120926-232800.jpg

That’s one thing I particularly love about pumpkin is that under that orange versatile sweetness is actually is a superfood packed with vitamin A fiber and it’s low calories! Not too mention it’s so versatile.

So for whatever reason when I think of fall granola is something that comes to mind and I always prefer to make it since store bought is typically loaded with sugars and preservatives. Plus it couldn’t be cheaper or easier to do!

This recipe is very basic which I’d how I typically make my granola so it is go with most things, but feel free to add walnuts, sunflower seeds, raisins, or even some dark chocolate 😉

Also I never eat Splenda but this is an exception when I use sugar free maple syrup but go ahead and use the real stuff for a true maple flavor.

Ingredients:
3 cups dry rolled oats
1 cup pumpkin purée
1/2 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup sugar free maple syrup, or preferred sweetener

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Mix everything, spread onto tinfoil lined baking sheet- maybe 2
Bake 20 mins or till nice and crunchy

Feel free to add nuts, seeds, raisins or chocolate!

Oh and just wait till I tell you about that green smoothie it’s my new favorite with 1 secret ingredient you won’t believe us delicious until you try it!!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

